The Helmut Newton Foundation and Pinault Collection proudly present CHRONORAMA. Photographic Treasures of the 20th Century. Following its highly successful premiere at Palazzo Grassi in Venice, the collaborative project will be shown at the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin starting 15 February 2024. CHRONORAMA marks the latest partnership between the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin and leading international collections. In 2018, it hosted Between Art & Fashion, with 223 works by 85 photographers from the collection of Carla Sozzani, former editor-in-chief of the Italian Elle and Vogue.

Now, the foundation unveils François Pinault’s recently acquired collection of exceptional photographs, including portraits, fashion, still lifes, architecture, photojournalism, as well as early illustrations from the legendary Condé Nast Archive. Showcasing nearly 250 works created between 1910 and the late-1970s for Condé Nast’s style-defining magazines, this chronological presentation traces the evolution of the fashion industry against the backdrop of radical changes in western culture, spanning subjects from the sophisticated to the sublime. Naturally, Helmut Newton’s works are also part of this remarkable collection, as he contributed extensively to Condé Nast magazines like Vogue and Vanity Fair from the 1950s onward. Most of Newton’s fashion photographs featured in this show have not been previously exhibited in Berlin.

Furthermore, the exhibition brings together an impressive array of Helmut Newton’s contemporaries and predecessors, including trailblazing photographers like Diane Arbus, Cecil Beaton, David Bailey, John Deakin, Robert Frank, Evelyn Hofer, Horst P. Horst, George Hoyningen-HuenePeter Hujar, William Klein, Lisette Model, Ugo Mulas, Irving Penn, Bert Stern, Deborah Turbeville, and Chris von Wangenheim.

CHRONORAMA comprises a breathtaking compendium of valuable vintage prints, many of which served as the basis for high-quality images in the magazines of their time. These photographic treasures transport today’s viewers through the history of the 20th century, offering insight into fashion staging and the evolving interpretation of fashion trends as well as culture, lifestyle, and world events. Organized by decade, the immersive tour begins in 1910, one year after Condé Nast acquired Vogue magazine, transforming it into a leading platform for fashion, style, and beauty. In those early days, photographs were still relatively rare, so abundant drawings by renowned fashion illustrators of the era also adorn the exhibition walls. Unlike the photography back then, the illustrations gracing the magazine’s pages and covers were in color – an important selling point for Condé Nast and its magazines. The dynamics between the two mediums underwent a seismic shift as photography rose to prominence in the ensuing decade in Vogue and Vanity Fair and other leading publications. Black-and-white photography long remained the standard, so the earliest color image on display dates to 1952, shot by Irving Penn, who also created over 100 Vogue covers.

Besides fashion, CHRONORAMA places people at the heart of its captivating chronicle, with numerous portraits of luminaries from the realms of music, art, sports, and politics – a veritable Who’s Who of the 20th century’s most celebrated figures. The exhibition also surveys lavish interiors, beauty salons, artistic still lifes, photographic experiments, and examples of journalistic photography, capturing war-torn London and the newly erected Empire State Building in New York. All these facets were published concurrently across Condé Nast’s magazines – and now this extraordinary treasure trove of images awaits discovery in Berlin.

The exhibition, produced and presented at Pinault Collection – Palazzo Grassi (Venice) in 2023, is now shown at the Helmut Newton Foundation under the joint curatorship of Matthieu Humery, Advisor for photography at Pinault Collection and Matthias Harder, Director of the foundation.

The exhibition is accompanied by the publication CHRONORAMA: Photographic Treasures of the 20th Century, Abrams & Chronicle Books, New York, 2023, 432 pages, Price: 29 €, ISBN 978-1-4197-6662-6

CHRONORAMA REDUX / Daniel Spivakov in the Project Room of the Helmut Newton Foundation

These enigmatic images somehow seem familiar, or at least certain elements of the motifs do. Consisting of multiple layers, they appear simultaneously figurative and abstract. Painter Daniel Spivakov engages with a preexisting image he selects himself, typically sourced from art or photography history, which he prints onto the canvas. Then, he overlays this image with expressive figures, applying quick brushstrokes. The faces in this second layer often resemble Spivakov’s own, transforming each painting into a form of self-portrait. By superimposing himself as a mimetic layer onto the art-historical backdrop, he creates a dialogue spanning time and generations. The paintings, reminiscent of a grisaille (a gray-toned painting), are punctuated with splashes of yellow and red.

Daniel Spivakov, born in 1996 and represented by Stallmann galleries in Berlin, is an artist, who strives for truthfulness in his work. In 2023, he completed three large-format canvases at his studio in Venice. Each canvas comprises three parts that have been screwed together to form a layered triptych. These works were first presented shortly after completion as part of the complementary exhibition Chronorama Redux at Palazzo Grassi, and are now making their debut in Germany.

Die Helmut Newton Stiftung und die Pinault Collection freuen sich, die kommende Ausstellung unter dem Titel CHRONORAMA. Photographic Treasures of the 20th Century gemeinsam anzukündigen. Nach dem großen Publikumserfolg der ersten Station im Palazzo Grassi in Venedig wird diese hochkarätig besetzte Gruppenschau ab 15. Februar 2024 in der Berliner Helmut Newton Stiftung zu sehen sein. CHRONORAMA setzt die Kooperation zwischen der Helmut Newton Stiftung und bedeutenden internationalen Sammlungen fort, die 2018 mit Between Art & Fashion begann. 223 Werke von 85 FotografInnen aus der Sammlung von Carla Sozzani, der früheren Chefredakteurin der italienischen Ausgaben der Modezeitschriften Elle und Vogue, konnten damals gezeigt werden.

Nun folgt die Präsentation der von François Pinault jüngst erworbenen Sammlung herausragender Fotografien der Genres Porträt, Mode, Stillleben, Architektur und Fotojournalismus, ergänzt durch frühe Illustrationen aus dem legendären Condé-Nast-Archiv. Knapp 250 Werke, entstanden zwischen 1910 und den späten 1970er-Jahren für die stilprägenden Condé-Nast-Titel und chronologisch geordnet, zeigen exemplarisch die Entwicklung der Modegeschichte sowie die radikalen gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen in der westlichen Welt in jener Zeit.

Auch Helmut Newtons Werk ist selbstverständlich Bestandteil dieser beachtlichen Sammlung, hat er doch seit den 1950er-Jahren für die unterschiedlichen Condé-Nast-Zeitschriften gearbeitet, vorwiegend für Vogue und Vanity Fair. Die Mehrzahl dieser Newton-Aufnahmen wird erstmals in der Berliner Stiftung zu sehen sein.

Ferner begegnen uns in der Ausstellung Helmut Newtons bekannteste und innovativste Zeitgenossen, darunter Diane Arbus, Cecil Beaton, David Bailey, John Deakin, Robert Frank, Evelyn Hofer, Horst P. Horst, George Hoyningen-HuenePeter Hujar, William Klein, Lisette Model, Ugo Mulas, Irving Penn, Bert Stern, Deborah Turbeville oder Chris von Wangenheim.

CHRONORAMA ist ein atemberaubendes Kompendium aus wertvollen Vintage Prints, von denen viele seinerzeit als Druckvorlagen für die Magazine verwendet wurden. Wie auf einer fotografischen Zeitreise durch das 20. Jahrhundert erhalten die BesucherInnen einen Einblick in die Anfänge der fotografischen Inszenierung und in die Interpretation der damals zeitgenössischen Mode, aber auch in Bereiche wie Kultur, Lifestyle und das historische Weltgeschehen. Nach Dekaden geordnet, beginnt der Parcours im Jahr 1910, nachdem Condé Nast die Zeitschrift Vogue ein Jahr zuvor erworben und in der Folge zum führenden Medium für die Themen Mode, Stil und Schönheit transformiert hatte. In dieser Frühzeit waren Fotografien in den Zeitschriften natürlich noch in der Unterzahl, insofern hängen hier auch zahlreiche gezeichnete Illustrationen aus den 1910er- und 20er-Jahren an den Ausstellungswänden, die für die Beiträge und die Magazincover von den damals berühmtesten Modezeichnern angefertigt wurden. Und diese Illustrationen waren im Gegensatz zur Fotografie jener Zeit farbig, für Condé Nast und seine Zeitschriften ein wichtiges Verkaufsargument. Doch das Verhältnis zwischen den Medien veränderte sich ab der nächsten Dekade. Die Fotografie wurde schließlich zum Leitmedium, nicht nur in den Magazinen Vogue und Vanity Fair, hier für Jahrzehnte fast ausschließlich in Schwarz-Weiß. Entsprechend stammt auch das früheste Farbbild in der Ausstellung erst von 1952, aufgenommen von Irving Penn, der darüber hinaus für weit über 100 Vogue-Cover verantwortlich war.

Neben der Mode steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt von CHRONORAMA, vor allem Porträts kreativer Geister aus den Bereichen Musik und Kunst, Sport und Politik, kurzum: Hier ist ein Who’s Who der Schönen und Reichen, der Berühmten und Bewunderten im 20. Jahrhundert zu sehen. Daneben schauen wir in luxuriöse Interieurs und Schönheitssalons, auf Stillleben und Foto-Experimente, sogar ins kriegszerstörte London oder auf das gerade errichtete Empire State Building in New York. All dies wurde in den Condé-Nast-Zeitschriften parallel publiziert – und jetzt ist dieser einzigartige Bilderschatz in Berlin zu entdecken.

Die Ausstellung wurde von der Pinault Collection – Palazzo Grassi (Venedig) produziert und dort im Jahr 2023 präsentiert. Vom 15. Februar bis zum 20. Mai 2024 ist sie, kuratiert von Matthieu Humery, dem Berater der Pinault Collection für Fotografie, und Matthias Harder, dem Direktor der Helmut Newton Stiftung, in Berlin zu sehen.

Zur Ausstellung ist ein Katalog erschienen: CHRONORAMA. Photographic Treasures of the 20th Century, Abrams & Chronicle Books, New York, 2023, 432 Seiten, Preis: 29 €, ISBN: 978-1-4197-6662-6.

CHRONORAMA REDUX / Daniel Spivakov im Projektraum der Helmut Newton Foundation

Irgendwie scheinen wir die rätselhaften Bilder von Daniel Spivakov zu kennen, zumindest einige Motivschnipsel; sie bestehen aus mehreren Schichten, sie sind figurativ und abstrakt zugleich. Der Maler reagiert auf eine selbst gewählte Vorlage aus der Kunst- und Fotogeschichte, die er auf den Bildträger drucken lässt, und setzt eine expressive Figuration mit schnellen Pinselschwüngen darüber. Die Personen in der zweiten Schicht tragen die Züge des Künstlers; so verwandelt er jede Leinwand letztlich in eine Art Selbstporträt. Er legt sich selbst als mimetische Schicht über den kunsthistorischen Humus, und diese Kombination und Transformation wird schließlich zu einer künstlerischen Kommunikation zwischen den Zeiten und den Generationen. Die Malerei gleicht einer Grisaille, auf der sich noch gelbe respektive rote Farbklekse befinden.

Daniel Spivakov, geboren 1996 und repräsentiert von der Berliner Galerie Stallmann, strebt in seinem Werk stets eine Art Wahrhaftigkeit an. Der Künstler hat die drei großformatigen Leinwände, die wiederum aus drei Teilen bestehen, also eine Art geschichtetes Triptychon, 2023 in seinem Atelier in Venedig vollendet und unmittelbar danach in der Zusatzausstellung „Chronorama Redux“ im Palazzo Grassi gezeigt, und nun sind sie erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen.