31 October 2021 marks the opening of the expansive retrospective exhibition Helmut Newton. Legacy at the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin. Originally scheduled to coincide with the photographer’s 100th birthday, it was postponed for a year due to the pandemic. Visitors can now look forward to seeing not only Helmut Newton’s many iconic images, but also a number of suprises.

The entire exhibition space on the first floor of the museum will chronologically trace the life and visual legacy of the Berlin-born photographer. With around 300 works, half of which are being shown for the first time, the foundation’s curator Matthias Harder will present lesser-known aspects of Newton’s oeuvre, including many of his more unconventional fashion photographs, which span the decades and reflect the changing spirit of the times. The presentation will be complemented by Polaroids and contact sheets that give insight into the creation process of some of the iconic motifs featured, as well as special publications, archival material, and statements by the photographer.

It was in the 1960s that Newton found his inimitable style in Paris, as seen in his photographs of the revolutionary fashion designed by André Courrèges. Working for well-known fashion magazines, Newton not only took classic studio shots but also ventured into the streets, where he staged models as participants in a protest, protagonists in a paparazzi story, and more. His clients’ sometimes stringent requirements and narrow expectations were an incentive for him to challenge traditional modes of representation.

In the 1970s, Newton began to enjoy unlimited creative possibilities while shooting on location – whether by helicopter on the beach in Hawaii or in a Parisian hourly hotel, where he included himself in a lingerie campaign through strategically placed mirrors. Repeatedly testing social and moral boundaries, sometimes he even redefined them. Until the end of his life he continued to both disturb and enchant people with his visions and visualizations of fashion and femininity. No other photographer has likely been published more often than Helmut Newton, and many of his iconic images have become part of our collective visual memory. Now, following intensive research in the foundation’s archives, forgotten and surprising photographs are coming to light.

For the duration of the retrospective, June’s Room will host a special exhibition on the work of June Newton aka Alice Springs – in memory of the foundation’s president, who passed away in Monte Carlo in April 2021 and has since been laid to rest next to her husband in Berlin.

To accompany the exhibition Helmut Newton. Legacy, an extensive catalogue under the same title has been be published by Taschen, edited by Matthias Harder: Hardcover, 24 × 34 cm, 424 pages, ISBN 978-3-8365-8458-6

Ab dem 31. Oktober 2021 zeigt die Berliner Helmut Newton Stiftung die große Retrospektive Helmut Newton. Legacy. Die Ausstellung sollte ursprünglich anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags des Fotografen eröffnet werden, wurde jedoch aufgrund der aktuellen Situation um ein Jahr verschoben; sie hält neben zahlreichen Bildikonen von Helmut Newton auch manche Überraschungen für die Besucher*innen bereit.

Auf der gesamten Ausstellungsfläche im ersten Stock des Museums wird das Leben und das visuelle Vermächtnis des gebürtigen Berliner Fotografen chronologisch nachgezeichnet. Mit etwa 300 Werken, von denen die Hälfte zum ersten Mal gezeigt wird, präsentiert der Stiftungskurator Matthias Harder unbekanntere Aspekte aus Newtons Werk, darunter vor allem seine ungewöhnlichen Modefotografien der unterschiedlichen Dekaden, die den sich wandelnden Zeitgeist widerspiegeln. Abgerundet wird die Präsentation durch Polaroids und Kontaktbögen, mit denen man in der Ausstellung der Entstehung berühmter Motive nachspüren kann, sowie Sonderveröffentlichen, Archivalien und Zitate des Fotografen.

Seinen unnachahmlichen Stil fand Newton im Paris der 1960er-Jahre, etwa mit den Aufnahmen der damals revolutionären Modeentwürfe von André Courrèges. Neben den klassischen Studioaufnahmen arbeitete der Fotograf auch in den Straßen von Paris und inszenierte seine Modelle etwa als vermeintliche Demonstrantinnen oder im Rahmen einer Paparazzi-Story; stets im Auftrag bekannter Modemagazine. Die teilweise engen Rahmenbedingungen und Erwartungen seiner Auftraggeber waren für ihn gleichzeitig ein Anreiz, gegen die traditionellen Darstellungsmodi zu opponieren.

Seit den 1970er-Jahren hatte Newton hingegen nahezu unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten beim Shooting vor Ort, ob per Helikopter am Strand von Hawaii oder in einem Pariser Stundenhotel, wo er Unterwäsche fotografierte und über die Spiegel im Raum stets im eigenen Bild sichtbar blieb. So testete Newton immer wieder gesellschaftlich-moralische Grenzen aus und definierte sie mitunter neu; er verstörte und verzauberte die Menschen mit seinen Visionen und Visualisierungen von Mode und Weiblichkeit – und das bis zu seinem Lebensende. Wohl kein Fotograf wurde häufiger publiziert als Helmut Newton. Heute sind viele seiner ikonischen Bilder Bestandteil unseres kollektiven Bildgedächtnisses. Doch nach einer intensiven Recherche im Stiftungsarchiv kommen nun vergessene, überraschende Fotografien ans Licht.

In June’s Room wird während der Laufzeit der Retrospektive eine Sonderausstellung zum Werk von June Newton alias Alice Springs gezeigt – im Andenken an die Stiftungspräsidentin, die im April 2021 in Monte Carlo verstarb und inzwischen neben ihrem Mann in Berlin zur letzten Ruhe gebettet wurde.

Zur Ausstellung Helmut Newton. Legacy erscheint die umfangreiche, gleichnamige Publikation im Taschen Verlag, hg. v. Matthias Harder, Hardcover, 24 × 34 cm, 424 Seiten, ISBN 978-3-8365-8458-6