The exhibition Helmut Newton. Brands brings together over 200 photographs, including many unknown motifs from Newton’s collaborations with internationally renowned brands such as Swarovski, Saint Laurent, Wolford, Blumarine, Redwall, and Lavazza.

When it came to composition and style, the photographer did not differentiate between magazine editorials and direct brand commissions, which were often arranged through advertising agencies. Newton referred to himself ironically as A Gun for Hire – a term that also served as the title of the 2005 posthumous exhibition of his commercial photography, shown first at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and then at the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin. Included in the exhibition at that time was Newton’s extravagant, award-winning black-and-white ad campaign for Villeroy & Boch from 1985. Newton showed the brand’s sinks and toilet bowls being delivered to a prestigious villa – carried by young women – with constellations of figures more reminiscent of Raymond Chandler’s detective novels than everyday life. His aesthetic rendering of both luxurious and everyday products and the remarkable shift in conventional contexts of use are captivating. Only a few photographs from the earlier exhibition on Newton’s commercial photography will be on view in Helmut Newton. Brands – such as the magnificent black-and-white series for Absolut Vodka with Kristen McMenamy, produced in Sweden in 2000.

Helmut Newton. Brands picks up where A Gun for Hire left off, showcasing photographs Newton shot mainly in the 1980s and ’90s for high-paying advertising agencies and corporate clients, mostly in and around Monaco. In the three front exhibition rooms, we encounter fashion images produced for the luxury industry, such as Newton’s interpretations of Yves Saint Laurent’s latest fashion designs, from haute couture to prêt-à-porter. Newton’s productions from season to season are as diverse and individual as the women’s clothing he depicted. The visual compositions sometimes transcend reality, transporting us to distant emotional and exotic spheres.

The other two rooms show Newton’s commissioned works for Wolford, which were published in 1993 and 1994 as calendars for exclusive customers. Newton’s photographs were used on everything from pantyhose packaging to XXL formats on billboards, public buses, and building facades. Such shifts in size and context, of course, radically alter the effect of the photographs, even while the subjects remain the same: when presented in the public space, the women modeling pantyhose and tight-fitting bodysuits transform into giants. Newton shot the Wolford campaign in both black-and-white and color with several models in Monaco, mainly near the sea. His images of designer creations for the American luxury department store chain Neiman Marcus are also on display in the first three exhibition rooms. They include examples from Newton’s many years of close collaboration with Anna Molinari and her label Blumarine, featuring models such as Monica Bellucci, Carla Bruni, and Carré Otis, realized in Nice and Monaco in 1993 and 1994.

What all these advertising campaigns have in common: Newton only integrated a few images from his commercial photography series into his exhibitions and books during his lifetime. Now for the first time, Helmut Newton. Brands offers the possibility to experience these photo series in their entirety in a single exhibition.

Selected Works

Die Ausstellung Helmut Newton. Brands vereint über 200 Fotografien, darunter viele unbekannte Motive aus Newtons Kooperationen mit international renommierten Marken wie Swarovski, Saint Laurent, Wolford, Blumarine, Redwall oder Lavazza.

Der Fotograf unterschied kompositorisch und stilistisch nicht zwischen dem Zeitschrifteneditorial und den unmittelbaren Aufträgen solcher Kunden, vermittelt häufig über Werbeagenturen. Selbstironisch nannte er sich A Gun for Hire – und so hieß auch die posthume Ausstellung seiner kommerziellen Fotografie, die 2005 zunächst im Grimaldi-Forum in Monaco und anschließend in seiner Berliner Stiftung zu sehen war. Teil der Ausstellung war damals beispielsweise Newtons spektakuläre, groß angelegte und preisgekrönte Schwarz-Weiß-Anzeigenkampagne für Villeroy & Boch aus dem Jahr 1985. Die Handwasch- und Toilettenbecken zeigte Newton bei der Anlieferung in eine repräsentative Villa – hineingetragen von jungen Frauen – sowie in Innenräumen mit Figurenkonstellationen, die eher an Raymond Chandlers Kriminalromane als an Alltagsszenen erinnern. Auch hier besticht bereits die Ästhetisierung mal banaler, mal luxuriöser Produkte und eine erstaunliche Verschiebung herkömmlicher Verwendungszusammenhänge. Nur sehr wenige Fotografien aus der früheren Ausstellung zu Newtons kommerzieller Fotografie werden auch in Helmut Newton. Brands zu sehen sein, beispielsweise die großartige Schwarz-Weiß-Serie für Absolut Vodka mit Kristen McMenamy, die in Schweden im Jahr 2000 entstand.

Die aktuelle Präsentation knüpft an A Gun for Hire an, sie vereint Newtons Aufnahmen, die vor allem in den 1980er- und 90er-Jahren für zahlungskräftige Werbeagenturen und Industriekunden entstanden sind, und zwar meist in und um Monaco. In den vorderen drei Ausstellungsräumen begegnen uns Modebilder im Luxussegment, beispielsweise Newtons Versionen der damals aktuellen Mode von Yves Saint Laurent, Haute Couture oder Prêt-à-porter-Entwürfe. Die Inszenierungen sind von Saison zu Saison so unterschiedlich und individuell wie die Damenbekleidung selbst; jenseits aller Realitätsbezüge entführen sie uns zuweilen in ferne gedankliche und exotische Sphären.

In den beiden anderen Räumen werden Newtons Auftragsarbeiten für Wolford ausgestellt, die 1993 und 1994 als Kalender für exklusive Kunden publiziert wurden. Genutzt wurden Newtons Fotografien auch für Strumpfhosenverpackungen wie für riesige Formate auf Billboards, Linienbussen und Hausfassaden. Durch solche Größen- und Kontextverschiebungen verändert sich natürlich auch die Wirkung der Fotografien radikal, obwohl die Motive selbst die gleichen bleiben: Die Frauen in den Strumpfhosen und enganliegenden Bodys werden so mitunter zu Giganten im öffentlichen Raum. Die Kampagne in Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe fotografierte Newton mit mehreren Modellen in Monaco, meist in der Nähe des Meeres. Weiterhin finden sich in den ersten drei Räumen der Ausstellung Werbebilder unterschiedlicher Designer für die amerikanische Luxuskaufhauskette Neiman Marcus sowie Beispiele aus Newtons langjähriger, enger Zusammenarbeit mit Anna Molinari und deren Label Blumarine, unter anderem mit den Modellen Monica Bellucci, Carla Bruni oder Carré Otis, realisiert in Nizza und Monaco 1993 und 1994.

Für all diese Werbekampagnen gilt gleichermaßen: Bekannt wurden immer nur einige wenige ausgewählte Motive, die Newton zu Lebzeiten in seine Ausstellungen und Bücher integrierte. Helmut Newton. Brands bietet erstmals die Möglichkeit, innerhalb einer Ausstellung die gesamten Bildserien zu sehen.

Werkauswahl