The exhibition Pages from the Glossies offers us a new perspective on many of Helmut Newton’s iconic photographs. Spanning more than four decades, the images are presented as facsimiles of the original magazine pages in which they were first published, between 1956 and 1998.

During this considerable length of time, Newton was regularly commissioned by publishers and editors from renowned magazines around the world to impart his version and vision of contemporary fashion. This continuity remained an exception in the otherwise fleeting fashion business.

Photographs that would later become celebrated and coveted were first published in the context of fashion editorials for the likes of Vogue, Elle, Queen, and Stern. In 1998, Newton compiled a selection of these magazine publications in his book, Pages from the Glossies.

The Helmut Newton Foundation is presenting the first-ever exhibition of these single- and double-paged images featured in this book, exhibited as enlarged facsimiles, including their individual layout, commentary, and captions. This presentation remains true to its source, showcasing more than 230 magazine pages and nearly 500 individual pictures. In many of the facsimiles we can discover motifs that Newton would later use in his exhibitions and photo books. We also encounter images that have never before been exhibited. As published photographs approved by Helmut Newton, they too are considered a legitimate part of his oeuvre.

This comprehensive exhibition of Newton’s work will again be accompanied by the work of another photographer. Greg Gorman shows in June’s Room his Color Works, color portraits of prominent musicians, visual artists, and actors, mostly hailing from the United States, including David Bowie, Grace Jones, Andy Warhol, and Julianne Moore.

Pages from the Glossies

Matthias Harder

The exhibition Pages from the Glossies offers us a new perspective on many of Helmut Newton’s iconic photographs. Spanning more than four decades, the images are presented as facsimiles of the original magazine pages in which they were first published, between 1956 and 1998. During this considerable length of time and beyond, Newton was regularly commissioned by publishers and editors from renowned magazines around the world to impart his version and vision of contemporary fashion. This continuity remained an exception in the otherwise fleeting fashion business.

Photographs that would later become celebrated and coveted were first published in the context of fashion editorials for the likes of Vogue, Elle, Queen, and Stern. In the 1960s and 1970s, when many of these iconic images were created and published, decisions on their use rested solely with the magazine editors. Even famous photographers like Helmut Newton had to yield to in-house design decisions concerning the single and double pages, or the final scope of the editorials. Many of his photographs were cropped, and some even overlaid with text; most of them, however, remained untouched.

In 1998, Newton compiled a selection of these high-gloss magazine images in his book, Pages from the Glossies, published by Scalo in Zurich. Long out of print, the book is now reissued by TASCHEN. The Helmut Newton Foundation is presenting the first-ever exhibition of these single- and double-paged images featured in this book, exhibited as enlarged facsimiles, including their individual layout, commentary, and captions. This presentation remains true to its source, showcasing more than 230 magazine pages and nearly 500 individual pictures.

In many of the facsimiles we can discover motifs that Newton would later use in his exhibitions and photo books. We also encounter color and black & white images that have never before been exhibited. As published photographs approved by Helmut Newton, they too are considered a legitimate part of his oeuvre.

Occasionally, for example with the now famous diptych They’re Coming (1981), which was first published in French Vogue, even the black outline of the negative was printed. For insiders, this is an indication of the film stock he used – in this case it was a 6×6 cm roll film – and the full negative format for later enlargements. We can also see how Newton originally composed his image during the shoot at the Parisian Vogue studio in camera – which is how the photographer worked in most cases. Newton’s juxtaposition of nude and clothed models, which would lead to his legendary Naked and Dressed series, first appeared in French Vogue in November 1981. A month earlier Vogue Italia had published comparable outdoor shots taken in Brescia. This show of nude and fashion shots side by side in a fashion magazine triggered a wave of indignation. Today, the diptych They’re Coming, which caused a scandal when first published in France, is a photographic icon that has been reprinted thousands of times. As a life-sized, limited vintage print it has been sold at auction for record prices.

Helmut Newton – with his depiction of women in ways that were sometimes radical yet always elegant – was often a step ahead of the zeitgeist, and influenced it over the decades. In the exhibition’s chronologically arranged facsimiles of Newton’s fashion photographs, visitors will recognize not only the evolution of the photographer’s visual language, but also the shifting role of women in western society since the 1950s. It also becomes apparent how Newton’s autonomous visual language stood out from the magazines’ conventional fashion illustrations.

Magazines were nonetheless a central means of distribution for Newton. Through them, he reached an audience of millions with his fashion images, long before he found other publication and distribution channels for his visual messages through photo books and exhibitions. The Helmut Newton Foundation’s posthumously produced exhibition of Pages from the Glossies, which previously only existed as a book, traces this development. Magazines and books containing Newton’s work are on display in vitrines, showing the images in their original size and the context. We become aware of the extent that Newton pushed the boundaries of his medium over the years and decades of his career, how much he experimented, and how successful he was in challenging social conventions.

This comprehensive exhibition of Newton’s work will again be accompanied by the work of another photographer, honoring Newton’s wish for this curatorial approach upon establishing his foundation. American photographer Greg Gorman returns as a guest following his first exhibition at the Helmut Newton Foundation in 2013. His black-and-white male nudes in June’s Room complemented Helmut Newton’s Big Nudes in the main exhibition space at the time. For this exhibition, June’s Room will now feature 25 color portraits made by Gorman of prominent musicians, visual artists, and actors, mostly hailing from the United States, including David Bowie, Grace Jones, Andy Warhol, and Julianne Moore.

The exhibition Color Works presents Gorman’s color photography for the first time in Germany. Here, we encounter representatives of a global music, art, and film business. In some of his portraits we see how Gorman both reflects and critiques the gradually fading myth of Hollywood. The images, many of which were produced on commission for magazines, are individual and formally diverse. Gorman’s unique photographic style fuses with his clients’ wishes and the impulses of his portrayed subjects in a remarkable mélange.

Greg Gorman, Graces Jones, Close Up, Los Angeles, 1989 © Greg Gorman

In dieser Ausstellung sehen wir viele Bildikonen von Helmut Newton neu. Die Motive entstammen einem Zeitraum von mehr als vier Jahrzehnten; es sind Faksimiles aus renommierten, internationalen Modemagazinen, entstanden zwischen 1956 und 1998.

Newton wurde von den wechselnden Verlegern oder Herausgebern in diesem langen Zeitraum immer wieder gebucht, um seine Versionen und Visionen der jeweils aktuellen Mode entstehen zu lassen. Diese Kontinuität blieb in dem sonst so schnelllebigen Modebusiness eine Besonderheit.

Entstanden für Zeitschriften wie Vogue, Elle, Queen und Stern wurden die später berühmten und begehrten Motive zunächst im Rahmen eines Mode-Editorials veröffentlicht. 1998 veröffentlichte Newton eine Auswahl dieser Hochglanzmagazin-Seiten in seinem Buch Pages from the Glossies.

In der Helmut Newton Stiftung werden erstmals die gesamten Einzel- und Doppelseiten aus Pages from the Glossies als vergrößerte Ausstellungsprints gezeigt. Die Präsentation der mehr als 230 Zeitschriftenseiten, mitsamt ihrem individuellen Layout inklusive Texten und Bildunterschriften sowie fast 500 Einzelaufnahmen bleibt insofern authentisch. Einige dieser Schwarz-Weiß-und Farbbilder wurden bislang noch nicht gezeigt. Sie gehören als publizierte und insofern von Helmut Newton legitimierte Aufnahmen zu seinem Gesamtwerk.

Der großen Übersichtsausstellung zu Newton wird auch diesmal das Werk eines anderen Fotografen zur Seite gestellt. Der amerikanische Fotograf Greg Gorman zeigt in June’s Room seine Color Work, Farbporträts prominenter Musiker, Künstler und Schauspieler, darunter David Bowie und Grace Jones, Andy Warhol und Julianne Moore.

Pages from the Glossies

Matthias Harder

In der Ausstellung Pages from the Glossies sehen wir viele Bildikonen von Helmut Newton neu. Die Bildmotive entstammen einem Zeitraum von mehr als vier Jahrzehnten (1956 bis 1998); es sind Faksimiles der Seiten renommierter, internationaler Modemagazine. Newton wurde von den wechselnden Verlegern oder Herausgebern über diesen langen Zeitraum und darüber hinaus immer wieder gebucht, um seine Versionen und Visionen der jeweils aktuellen Mode entstehen zu lassen. Diese Kontinuität blieb in dem sonst so schnelllebigen Mode-Business eine Besonderheit.

In Magazinen wie Vogue, Elle, Queen und Stern, wurden die später berühmten und begehrten Motive zunächst im Rahmen eines Mode-Editorials veröffentlicht. Insbesondere in den 1960er und 1970er-Jahren, als viele dieser ikonischen Aufnahmen entstanden, entschieden vor allem Bildredakteure über die Verwendung der Modeaufnahmen. Auch Helmut Newton und seine berühmten Kollegen mussten sich in dieser Zeit der hausinternen Gestaltung der Einzel- und Doppelseiten oder des Umfangs des Editorials unterordnen. Manche Bilder wurden beschnitten oder mit Schrift unterschiedlichster Typographie überzogen, die meisten jedoch blieben unangetastet. Auf den Doppelseiten mit den Newton-Motiven wird ein autonomer Bildanspruch sichtbar, der jenseits bloßer Mode-Illustration innerhalb des Magazins funktioniert, und das über den Zeitraum mehrerer Jahrzehnte.

1998 veröffentlichte Newton eine Auswahl dieser Hochglanzmagazin-Seiten in seinem Buch Pages from the Glossies, herausgebracht von Scalo in Zürich. Lange vergriffen, wird es nun vom TASCHEN Verlag neu aufgelegt. In der Helmut Newton Stiftung werden erstmals die gesamten Einzel- und Doppelseiten aus Pages from the Glossies als vergrößerte Ausstellungsprints gezeigt. Die Präsentation der mehr als 230 Zeitschriftenseiten, mitsamt ihrem individuellen Layout, mit Texten, Bildunterschriften und fast 500 Einzelaufnahmen bleibt insofern authentisch.

Von manchen Motiven entdecken wir Varianten, die Newton später in Ausstellungen und Bildbände übernommen hat. Wir begegnen aber auch einigen Schwarz-Weiß- und Farbbildern, die bislang noch nicht gezeigt wurden. Sie gehören als publizierte und insofern von Helmut Newton legitimierte Aufnahmen ebenso zu seinem Gesamtwerk.

Gelegentlich, wie etwa bei dem später berühmten Diptychon Sie kommen (1981), wurden bei der Erstveröffentlichung in der französischen Vogue sogar die schwarzen Umrisslinien des Negativrahmens abgedruckt. Für Insider ist dies ein Hinweis auf das verwendete Filmformat, in diesem Fall ein 6×6 cm Rollfilm, sowie auf das in Gänze verwendete Negativformat für die Vergrößerung. Und wir sehen gleichzeitig, wie Newton das fertige Bild bereits während der Aufnahme in den Pariser Vogue Studios komponiert hat; so hat der Fotograf es in den meisten Fällen realisiert. Die französische Vogue hatte die Gegenüberstellung von nackten und bekleideten Modellen, die später in Newtons Werk als Naked and Dressed-Bildserie legendär wurde, im November 1981 abgedruckt, die italienische Vogue vergleichbare Freiluftaufnahmen aus Brescia bereits einen Monat zuvor. Es brach ein Sturm der Entrüstung los, als die Akt- und Modebilder Seite an Seite in dem Modemagazin veröffentlicht wurden. Das Diptychon Sie kommen, das damals bei der Erstpublikation in Frankreich noch provozierte, ist heute eine Bildikone; es wurde tausendfach nachgedruckt und erzielt heute als lebensgroßer, limitierter Vintage-Abzug Rekordpreise auf dem Auktionsmarkt.

Wenn man als Besucher an Newtons chronologisch aufgereihten, faksimilierten Modepublikationen entlangschreitet, wird nicht nur die sich verändernde Bildsprache, sondern vor allem die veränderte Stellung der Frau in der westlichen Gesellschaft seit den 1950er-Jahren deutlich. Helmut Newton war mit seinen teilweise radikalen, aber stets sehr eleganten Frauenbildern dem Zeitgeist häufig voraus – und hat diesen gleichzeitig über Jahrzehnte mitgeprägt.

Ein zentrales Distributionsmittel für seine Modebild-Visionen waren die Zeitschriften. Über sie wurde der Fotograf einem Millionenpublikum bekannt, bevor er mit eigenen Bildbänden und Ausstellungen auch andere Veröffentlichungs- und Vertriebswege für seine visuellen Botschaften fand. Mit der posthum produzierten und zuvor lediglich als Buch existierenden Ausstellung Pages from the Glossies zeichnet die Helmut Newton Stiftung diese Entwicklung nach. In Vitrinen werden zusätzliche Magazine und Bücher von Newton präsentiert – und insofern die Bildmotive in ihrer eigentlichen Verwendung in der damaligen Originalgröße. So werden wir auch hier wieder gewahr, wie sehr Newton über die Jahrzehnte seines Schaffens die Grenzen des Mediums ausgelotet, wie sehr er experimentiert und wie erfolgreich er gesellschaftliche Regeln ausgehebelt hat.

Wie bereits früher wird einer großen Übersichtsausstellung Newtons auch diesmal das Werk eines anderen Fotografen an die Seite gestellt; dies hatte Helmut Newton selbst bei der Gründung seiner Stiftung als Wunsch formuliert. Der amerikanische Fotograf Greg Gorman wurde 2013 bereits für eine ergänzende Präsentation in June’s Room eingeladen. Während er damals Schwarz-Weiß-Männerakte zeigte, die Newtons Big Nudes im Hauptausstellungsraum paraphrasierten, sind diesmal an gleicher Stelle 25 Farbporträts prominenter, meist amerikanischer Musiker, Künstler und Schauspieler zu sehen, darunter David Bowie und Grace Jones, Andy Warhol und Julianne Moore.

In der Ausstellung Color Works begegnen wir Gormans Interpretationen der Gesichter und Typen eines globalen Musik- und Kunstbusiness sowie eines langsam verblassenden Hollywoodmythos, den er weiterschreibt und gleichzeitig subtil hinterfragt. Die Aufnahmen sind sehr individuell und formal unterschiedlich; sie entstanden meist im Auftrag von Magazinen, und so verbindet sich der eigenständige fotografische Stil Gormans mit den Wünschen der Auftraggeber und den Bildideen der Porträtierten innerhalb der Ausstellung zu einer ungewöhnlichen Mélange. Color Works ist die erste Ausstellung von Farbfotografien Gormans in Deutschland.

Greg Gorman, Graces Jones, Close Up, Los Angeles, 1989 © Greg Gorman