The summer exhibition at the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin is again divided into three parts. Highlighting the works of Alice Springs, Helmut Newton, and Mart Engelen, it not only unites three photographers, but also three different photographic approaches.

Under the pseudonym Alice Springs, June Newton also worked as a photographer, with a particular focus on portraiture. This is her second retrospective, organized in 2015 by the Maison Européenne de la Photographie (MEP) in Paris, now also be shown in Berlin, showcasing more than 100 portraits she has made of fellow photographers, as well as other prominent figures, both in black & white and in color. They are complemented by an expansive series of street photographs Alice Springs shot along Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles, where she documented the Californian punk and hip-hop scene in the 1980s.

Helmut Newton did not only work exclusively for fashion magazines and designers. He also nurtured an interest in offbeat subjects, paparazzi pictures, police photography, and crime stories, in short: yellow journalism. The exhibition Yellow Press was compiled and first presented by the photographer himself in 2002 at his former gallery in Zurich. It includes several photo series that were never published in Newton’s books during his lifetime.

Once again, Helmut Newton’s wish to invite a photographer to exhibit in “June’s Room” will be posthumously fulfilled. Amsterdam-based photographer Mart Engelen, who also publishes an exclusive photography magazine, will show more than 20 black & white portraits from the international contemporary cultural scene, inspired by French film noir.

Die Sommerausstellung in der Berliner Helmut Newton Stiftung ist erneut dreigeteilt, mit Alice Springs, Helmut Newton und Mart Engelen vereint sie nicht nur drei Bildautoren, sondern auch drei unterschiedliche fotografische Ansätze.

Unter dem Pseudonym Alice Springs arbeitet June Newton seit 1970 selbst als Fotografin, insbesondere im Porträtfach. Nun wird die 2015 vom Pariser Maison Européenne de la Photographie (MEP) organisierte Retrospektive auch in Berlin gezeigt; darin finden sich zahlreiche intensive Porträts in Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe, ergänzt durch eine umfangreiche Bildserie von Straßenfotografien, die in der Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles entstanden sind, wo Alice Springs in den 1980er-Jahren die kalifornische Punk- und HipHop-Szene porträtierte.

Helmut Newton arbeitete nicht nur im Auftrag von Modezeitschriften oder Modedesignern. Er interessierte sich auch für Abseitiges, für Paparazzi-Bilder, Polizei-Fotografie und Kriminalgeschichten, kurzum: für die Yellow Press. Die gleichnamige Ausstellung Yellow Press wurde noch vom Fotografen persönlich zusammengestellt und erstmals 2002 in seiner damaligen Züricher Galerie präsentiert. Darin finden sich mehrere Bildserien, die zuvor nicht in seinen Büchern veröffentlicht worden sind.

Auch diesmal wird posthum dem Wunsch Helmut Newtons entsprochen und ein weiterer Fotograf eingeladen, in „June’s Room“ auszustellen: Der Amsterdamer Mart Engelen, der auch ein exklusives Fotomagazin herausgibt, zeigt in Berlin mehr als 20 Schwarz-Weiß-Porträts der zeitgenössischen internationalen Kulturszene – inspiriert u. a. durch den französischen Film noir.