Twenty years ago, Taschen published its first monumental art book: Helmut Newton, SUMO. It came out in 1999 with a print run of 10,000 copies and delivered with a metal stand designed by Philippe Starck.

Now, the Helmut Newton Foundation organizes an unconventional yet fitting exhibition dedicated to this legendary publication: the book’s 464 framed pages are hanging on the wall, side by side, in two or three rows, one above the other, in the order of their appearance in the book. In contrast to browsing page-by-page through the book, we could stand in the midst of more than 400 iconic photographs and see everything all at once, his famous nudes, portraits and fashion photographs shot for various magazines. SUMO begins with an introductory autobiographical essay by Helmut Newton. With his words, the photographer takes us on a journey through time – from Berlin to Singapore, Australia, and Paris, where his incomparable career as a fashion photographer began in the early 1960s. Starting in the 1980s, he took also nude and fashion photographs in Hollywood where Newton met three young photography students : Mark Arbeit, George Holz, and Just Loomis, who would assist him with his work in the following years.

This collaboration and friendship now ends in the presentation of Three Boys from Pasadena, about 50 photographs per artist and exhibition room. Mark Arbeit displays life-size photograms of nude female models and small-format photograms of toy dolls which pay homage to Helmut Newton’s passion for collecting such figures. His Torso series refers to statues from classical antiquity as well as Surrealist photographic experiments. George Holz presents a number of his well-known Hollywood portraits which have adorned many covers of well-known magazines, accompanied by more recent nudes. The coexistence of the dressed and undressed, of protagonists who are both pensive and seductive, can also be found in the work of Helmut Newton. Just Loomis, meanwhile, has selected some of his Backstage works to complement his earlier As We Are series. His images reflect his attentive, empathetic view of people, be they children, waitresses, homeless people, or models. With Backstage, he shows us the other side of the glitzy fashion business: the concentration, frenzy, and intense emotional energy of the models which charge the atmosphere behind the catwalk.

For the first time, the exquisite private photo collection of Helmut and June Newton will also be on display. Until a few months ago, this collection was kept in their apartment in Monte Carlo. Hanging in “June’s Room” at the Helmut Newton Foundation, parallel to SUMO and Three Boys from Pasadena, are portraits by August Sander, Brassaï, and Irving Penn, nudes by Man Ray, Robert Mapplethorpe, and Diane Arbus, fashion photos by Horst P. Horst and Richard Avedon; as well as landscapes by Franco Fontana and Peter Beard. In short, the collection holds valuable vintage prints by many of the most important photographers of the 20th century, presented in their original frames.

SUMOThree Boys from PasadenaPrivate Photo Collection

Matthias Harder

A legendary photo book in a unique XXL format, a private photo collection, and three of Helmut Newton’s former assistants who have been in the business for a long time – these are the ingredients for the new exhibition at the Helmut Newton Foundation, which will open on 6 June 2019.

Twenty years ago in 1999, Taschen published its first monumental art book: Helmut Newton. SUMO. It came out on the market in the exceptionally large format of 70 x 50 cm with a print run of 10,000 copies, all signed by the photographer and delivered with a metal stand designed by Philippe Starck. Since then, SUMO has rested on that stand in the similarly impressive homes of private collectors, where from time to time one of the poster-sized pages is turned. Shortly after the book’s publication, a copy that had been additionally signed by some of Newton’s world-renowned subjects was sold for over DM 600,000 at a charity auction, adding another superlative by making it the most expensive book of the twentieth century.

Ten years ago in 2009, the Helmut Newton Foundation organized an unconventional yet fitting exhibition dedicated to this legendary publication: the book’s 464 pages were framed and hung on the wall, side by side in three rows, one above the other. In contrast to browsing page-by-page through the book, exhibition visitors could stand in the midst of more than 400 photographs and see everything all at once. This format made it possible to view Newton’s iconic images both individually and in the context of the different periods of their creation, from the 1960s to the 1990s. On the occasion of that exhibition, Taschen published a smaller version of SUMO, which is still available on the book market today.

Now, another ten years later, SUMO will again be presented at the Helmut Newton Foundation. As before, the book’s pages will be arranged above and next to each other, in the order of their appearance in the book. We encounter Newton’s famous Big Nudes and other nude photographs, numerous fashion photographs Newton shot for various editions of Vogue, Elle, Stern, and Vanity Fair, as well as his portraits of famous actors and artists, from Liz Taylor and Jodie Foster to Salvador Dalí and Andy Warhol. Helmut Newton’s work will unfold throughout the space in a way not usually seen at his foundation. Yet even this generous selection of images is only a small excerpt from his colossal body of work, full of timeless elegance and subtle seduction.

The book SUMO begins with an introductory autobiographical essay written in English by Helmut Newton. Like the framed book pages, this text can also be found hanging on a wall in the exhibition. With his words, the photographer takes us on a journey through time – from Berlin, where he was trained by Yva, to Singapore, Australia, and Paris, where his incomparable career began in the early 1960s, particularly with French Vogue. Starting in the 1980s, he started adding nude photographs to his portfolio, which a short time later were followed by numerous portraits, taken especially in Hollywood, where Helmut and June Newton spent several months every year at the Chateau Marmont hotel. It was in California that Newton also met three young photography students: Mark Arbeit, George Holz, and Just Loomis, who would assist him with his work in the following years.

Helmut Newton, Elizabeth Taylor, Vanity Fair, Los Angeles, 1989

Similar to the exhibition a decade ago in 2009, Newton’s SUMO exhibition will be accompanied by works from these Three Boys from Pasadena. This time however, their works will be shown in different parts of the foundation. Each of these American photographers will have a dedicated space, in which their earlier works which were previously shown and which have been part of the Newton Collection in Berlin for years, will now be joined by new photographs – for a total of more than 50 photographs each per artist and exhibition room. A similar presentation approach was used in another exhibition at the foundation, Guy Bourdin: Image Maker.

Mark Arbeit, Torso #49, 2011 © Mark Arbeit

Mark Arbeit complements his earlier photos with life-size photograms of nude female models, posing them directly on photosensitive paper before exposing them to light. He also shows small-format photograms of toy dolls, which pay homage to Helmut Newton’s passion for collecting such figures. Helmut Newton’s Private Property, the foundation’s permanent exhibition on the ground floor, includes numerous Barbie dolls from Newton’s private collection, presented on a Memphis-style shelf designed by Ettore Sottsass. For his Torso series, Mark Arbeit covered the arms, legs, and head of his female models with black fabric, so that only their torso is visible in the photograph. Set against a black background, the cropped figures seem to emerge from a void, twisting and turning in sometimes extreme poses. The images make reference to statues from classical antiquity as well as Surrealist photographic experiments.

George Holz, Madonna, Hollywood, 1983 © George Holz

George Holz, in addition to his black-and-white nudes from the earlier exhibition, now presents a number of his well-known Hollywood portraits in black-and-white and color, including Madonna, Sade, Andy MacDowell, Kirstin Dunst, Jack Nicholson, and Steven Spielberg. Some of these images have adorned the covers and inside pages of well-known magazines. The portraits are accompanied by more recent nudes, some of them taken outdoors in nature. The coexistence of the dressed and undressed, of protagonists who are both pensive and seductive, can also be found in the work of Mark Arbeit and, of course, Helmut Newton. Holz’s work likewise draws attention to the body and the eyes, to poses and beauty, while also seeking to capture the essence of his subject’s true personality. Male and female models find equal footing in his work, which consists of both commissioned and independent projects.

Just Loomis, Silver Boot, Los Angeles, 2003 © Just Loomis

Just Loomis, meanwhile, has selected some of his Backstage works to complement his earlier Americana series. His images reflect his attentive, empathetic view of people, be they children, waitresses, homeless people, or models. Both of these series by Loomis have been accompanied by books published by Hatje Cantz. Shortly after the first Three Boys from Pasadena exhibition at the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin, his book As We Are was released. The images, some of which date back to the mid-1970s, build visually on Loomis’s recollections of growing up in his native Reno, Nevada. His more recent publication, Backstage, was presented at a book launch at the Helmut Newton Foundation in 2018, and will now be featured at the foundation again, for the first time in the form of photo prints. With Backstage, Loomis shows us the other side of the glitzy fashion business: the concentration, frenzy, and intense emotional energy of the models which charge the atmosphere behind the catwalk. These portrait-like images have a sense of timelessness about them. Loomis started the series in the 1980s, when he moved to Milan and first discovered the backstage, taking many photographs apart from the actual fashion shows.

These three photographers are now about the same age as Helmut Newton was when he first met them, as students at the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, California, and took them on as his assistants. Today they are established, commercially successful photographers with their own assistants. In the early 1980s, Newton was commissioned to shoot several portraits – including for Vanity Fair, of personalities such as Michelle Pfeiffer, Jacqueline Bisset, and Debra Winger; and for Playboy, of Nastassja Kinski. To support him in these shoots, he would always take along one of the three young design students from Pasadena. Looking at the work of Arbeit, Holz, and Loomis today, we can detect the influence of Helmut Newton, even though they have each developed their own unique style.

For the first time, the exquisite private photo collection of Helmut and June Newton will also be on display. Until a few months ago, this collection was kept in their apartment in Monte Carlo, and has now come into the care of the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin. Hanging in June’s Room at the foundation, parallel to SUMO and Three Boys from Pasadena, are portraits by August Sander, Brassaï, Ralph Gibson, Mary Ellen Mark, Albert Watson, Irving Penn, and George Hurrell. There are also nudes by Man Ray, Robert Mapplethorpe, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Frantisek Drtikol, Diane Arbus, and Chris von Wangenheim; fashion photos by Horst P. Horst, George Hoyningen-Huene, and Richard Avedon; as well as landscapes by Franco Fontana and Peter Beard. In short, the collection holds valuable vintage prints by many of the most important photographers of the 20th century, presented in their original frames. The intimacy of the exhibition space in June’s Room underscores the individuality of the private collection, which was acquired over the course of decades by Helmut and June Newton.

1999 veröffentlichte der Taschen-Verlag sein erstes monumentales Kunstbuch: Helmut Newton’s SUMO. Es kam in einer Auflage von 10.000 signierten Exemplaren auf den Markt, ausgeliefert mit einem von Philippe Starck entworfenen Metallständer.

Nun, zwanzig Jahre später, wird SUMO in der Helmut Newton Stiftung präsentiert: Die 464 Buchseiten hängen gerahmt nebeneinander an der Wand, in zwei oder drei Reihen übereinander. Wir können – anders als beim sukzessive Blättern durch das Buch – in der Ausstellung sprichwörtlich alles auf einmal sehen, mehr als 400 ikonische Fotografien: Newtons Akt- und Modebilder sowie Porträts, meist entstanden im Auftrag der unterschiedlichsten Zeitschriften. Eingeleitet wird die Publikation von einem autobiografischen Text. Darin nimmt uns Newton auf eine Zeitreise mit, zurück in seine Ausbildungszeit bei Yva in Berlin, später nach Singapur, Australien und Paris, wo Anfang der 1960er-Jahre seine unvergleichliche Karriere als Modefotograf begann. Ab 1980 kamen Aktaufnahmen und Portraits auch in Hollywood hinzu. Und dort traf Newton die drei jungen Fotostudenten Mark Arbeit, George Holz und Just Loomis, die ihm in den folgenden Jahren bei zahlreichen Aufträgen assistierten.

Die Zusammenarbeit und Freundschaft der Fotografen mündet nun in der Präsentation der Three Boys from Pasadena, insgesamt etwa 50 Aufnahmen pro Künstler und Ausstellungsraum. Mark Arbeit zeigt lebensgroße Fotogramme von weiblichen Aktmodellen sowie kleinformatige Fotogramme von Spielzeugpuppen, die eine Hommage an Helmut Newton und dessen Sammelleidenschaft solcher Figuren darstellt. Seine Torso-Werkserie rekurriert auf die klassische Antike ebenso wie auf fotografische Experimente der Surrealisten. George Holz zeigt zahlreiche seiner bekannten Hollywood-Porträts sowie neuere Aktbilder. Das Miteinander von bekleideten und unbekleideten, von nachdenklichen und verführerischen Modellen findet sich bekanntlich ebenso im Werk von Newton. Just Loomis schließlich hat einige seiner Backstage-Arbeiten ausgewählt, die seine frühere „As We Are“-Serie ergänzen; seine Fotografien sind stets geprägt von einem zurückhaltenden, empathischen Blick auf die Mitmenschen, seien es Kinder oder Kellnerinnen, Obdachlose oder Laufstegmodelle. Mit Backstage zeigt uns Loomis die andere Seite des strahlenden Modebusiness, vielmehr die Konzentration und Hektik vor dem eigentlichen Auftritt auf dem Laufsteg.

Erstmals wird auch die exquisite private Fotosammlung von Helmut und June Newton gezeigt, die sich bis vor einigen Monaten noch in deren Wohnung in Monte Carlo befand. In „June’s Room“ hängen nun – parallel zu SUMO und Three Boys from Pasadena – Porträts von August Sander, Brassaï und Irving Penn, Aktbilder von Man Ray, Robert Mapplethorpe und Diane Arbus, Modeaufnahmen von Horst P. Horst und Richard Avedon sowie Landschaften von Franco Fontana und Peter Beard – eine Auswahl wertvoller Vintage Prints in der originalen Rahmung von einigen der bedeutendsten Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts.

SUMOThree Boys from PasadenaPrivate Photo Collection

Matthias Harder

Ein in diesem großen Format bislang einmaliges Fotobuch, eine private Fotosammlung und drei ehemalige Assistenten von Helmut Newton, die selbst schon sehr lange sehr gut im Geschäft sind: Das sind die Zutaten für die neue Ausstellung in der Helmut Newton Stiftung, die am 6. Juni 2019 eröffnet wird.

1999, vor 20 Jahren, veröffentlichte der Taschen-Verlag sein erstes monumentales Kunstbuch: Helmut Newton’s SUMO. Es kam in einem ungewöhnlich großen Format von 70 x 50 cm und einer Auflage von 10.000 Exemplaren auf den Markt, alle vom Fotografen persönlich signiert, ausgeliefert mit einem von Philippe Starck entworfenen Metallständer. Darauf ruht es seitdem in vielen großzügigen Sammlerwohnungen, während von Zeit zu Zeit wohl eine der postergroßen Seiten umgeblättert wird. Kurz nach Erscheinen wurde ein Exemplar des SUMO-Buches, von einigen der von Newton porträtierten internationalen Kulturgrößen zusätzlich signiert, bei einer Charity-Auktion für über 600.000 DM versteigert – und damit zum teuersten Buch des 20. Jahrhunderts, ein weiterer Superlativ.

2009, vor zehn Jahren, organisierte die Helmut Newton Stiftung eine ungewöhnliche, gewissermaßen adäquate Ausstellung zu dieser legendären Publikation: die 464 Buchseiten hingen gerahmt nebeneinander an der Wand, in drei Reihen übereinander. Die Besucher*innen konnten – anders als beim sukzessive Blättern durch das Buch – in der Ausstellung sprichwörtlich alles auf einmal sehen und wurden von den mehr als 400 Fotografien gleichsam eingerahmt. So war es möglich, die ikonischen Bilder von Newton, insbesondere aus seinen Hauptgenres Mode, Porträt und Akt, einige in Schwarz-Weiß und andere in Farbe, individuell und über die unterschiedlichen Entstehungszeiten von den 1960er bis in die 1990er-Jahre innerhalb der Ausstellung miteinander in Beziehung zu setzen. Anlässlich dieser Ausstellung erschien im Taschen-Verlag die verkleinerte Version des SUMO, die bis heute auf dem Buchmarkt erhältlich ist.

Nun, erneut zehn Jahre später, wird SUMO wieder in der Helmut Newton Stiftung präsentiert, über- und nebeneinander, der Reihenfolge im Buch folgend: Wir begegnen in der Publikation und in der Berliner Ausstellung unter anderem Newtons berühmten Big Nudes und anderen Aktaufnahmen, zahlreichen Modebildern für die unterschiedlichen Ausgaben der Vogue, für Zeitschriften wie Elle, Stern oder Vanity Fair sowie Porträts von bekannten Schauspieler*innen oder Künstlern, darunter Liz Taylor und Jodie Foster oder Salvador Dali und Andy Warhol. So breitet sich Newtons Werk hier – anders als üblich – in der nach ihm benannten Stiftung aus, und selbst diese große Bildauswahl ist nur ein winziger Ausschnitt aus seinem gigantischen Œuvre voller zeitloser Eleganz und subtiler Verführung.

Eingeleitet wird die Publikation von einem autobiografischen, englischen Text Helmut Newtons, der sich wie die anderen gerahmten Buchseiten ebenfalls an einer Ausstellungswand wiederfindet – und mit dem uns der Fotograf auf eine Zeitreise mitnimmt, hinein in seine Ausbildung bei Yva in Berlin, in die Zeit in Singapur, Australien und Paris, wo Anfang der 1960er-Jahre insbesondere bei der französischen Vogue seine unvergleichliche Karriere begann. Ab 1980 kamen Aktaufnahmen und etwas später auch zahlreiche Portraits hinzu, vor allem in Hollywood, wo Helmut und June Newton im Hotel Chateau Marmont jedes Jahr einige Monate verbrachten. Und in Kalifornien traf Newton auch drei jungen Fotostudenten Mark Arbeit, George Holz und Just Loomis, die ihm in den folgenden Jahren bei Aufträgen für Porträts, Aktaufnahmen und Produktfotografien assistierten.

Helmut Newton, Elizabeth Taylor, Vanity Fair, Los Angeles, 1989

Ergänzt wird Newtons SUMO-Ausstellung wie vor zehn Jahren durch die Präsentation dieser Three Boys from Pasadena – diesmal durch neuere Arbeiten der ehemaligen Assistenten ergänzt. Denn während Arbeit, Holz und Loomis 2009 mit jeweils einer Werkgruppe innerhalb eines Ausstellungsraumes gezeigt wurden, wird nun jedem der drei amerikanischen Fotografen ein eigener Raum zur Verfügung gestellt. Darin steht die frühere Werkgruppe, die sich seit Jahren als Zustiftung in der Berliner Newton-Sammlung befinden, im Zentrum und wird von aktuellen Aufnahmen an den übrigen Ausstellungswänden umgeben, insgesamt jeweils knapp 50 Fotografien pro Künstler und Ausstellungsraum. Diese Präsentationsidee begegnete uns hier bereits in der früheren Ausstellung Guy Bourdin. Image Maker.

Mark Arbeit, Torso #49, 2011 © Mark Arbeit

Mark Arbeit ergänzt lebensgroße Fotogramme von weiblichen Aktmodellen, die sich während der Belichtung auf das Fotopapier gelegt haben, sowie kleinformatige Fotogramme von Spielzeugpuppen, die eine Hommage an Helmut Newton und dessen Sammelleidenschaft solcher Figuren darstellt. In Helmut Newton’s Private Property, der Dauerausstellung im Erdgeschoss der Stiftung, befinden sich zahlreiche Barbie-Puppen aus Newtons privater Sammlung auf dem von Ettore Sottsass entworfenen Regal im Memphis-Design. In seiner Torso-Werkserie bedeckt Mark Arbeit die Arme, Beine und den Kopf seiner weiblichen Fotomodelle mit einem schwarzen Stoff, so dass insbesondere der restliche hellhäutige Körper in den unterschiedlichsten Posen inklusive extremer Körperdrehungen exponiert ist – und so zum Torso wird. Der Hintergrund bleibt schwarz, so dass die angeschnittenen Figuren wie aus dem Nichts aufzutauchen scheinen; dies zitiert die klassische Antike ebenso wie fotografische Experimente der Surrealisten.

George Holz, Madonna, Hollywood, 1983 © George Holz

George Holz zeigt – neben seinen Schwarz-Weiß-Aktbildern der früheren Ausstellung – zahlreiche seiner bekannten Hollywood-Porträts in Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe, darunter Madonna, Sade, Andy MacDowell, Kirstin Dunst, Jack Nicholson oder Steven Spielberg, von denen manche zuvor bereits in Zeitschriften und auf deren Titelseiten publiziert wurden. Diesen Porträts gesellen sich zahlreiche neuere Aktbilder hinzu, von denen einige auch plein air entstanden sind. Das Miteinander von bekleideten und unbekleideten, von nachdenklichen und verführerischen Protagonist*innen findet sich ebenso im Werk von Mark Arbeit und natürlich Helmut Newton. Stets geht es auch George Holz um Körper und Blicke, um Posen und Schönheit, aber auch um die Charakteristika konkreter realer Personen. Und so finden sich männliche und weibliche Modelle gleichberechtigt in seinem Werk nebeneinander, das einerseits im Auftrag, andererseits frei entsteht.

Just Loomis, Silver Boot, Los Angeles, 2003 © Just Loomis

Just Loomis schließlich hat einige seiner Backstage-Arbeiten ausgewählt, die seine frühere Americana-Serie ergänzen; dabei sind seine Bilder stets von einem zurückhaltenden, empathischen Blick auf seine Mitmenschen geprägt, seien es Kinder oder Kellnerinnen Obdachlose oder Fotomodelle. Beide Bildserien wurde von Büchern im Hatje Cantz-Verlag begleitet. Kurz nach der ersten Ausstellung in Berlin erschien as we are mit vielen der dort gezeigten Aufnahmen, die auch persönliche Erinnerungen seit Mitte der 1970er-Jahre aus seinem Geburtsort Reno visualisieren. Die jüngere Publikation Backstage wurde 2018 bei einer Book Launch in der Helmut Newton Stiftung vorgestellt – und wird nun am gleichen Ort erstmals auch in Form von Fotoabzügen präsentiert. Mit Backstage zeigt uns Loomis die andere Seite des strahlenden Modebusiness, die Konzentration und Hektik vor dem eigentlichen Auftritt auf dem Laufsteg, aber auch Emotionen unterschiedlichster Art. Die porträthaften Aufnahmen sind zeitlos, sie entstanden seit den 1980er-Jahren, als Loomis nach Mailand kam und auch viel abseits der eigentlichen Modeshows fotografierte.

Inzwischen sind die drei Fotografen kommerziell ziemlich erfolgreich und im gleichen Alter wie Newton, als er sie noch während ihres Studiums am Art Center College of Design kennenlernte und zu seinen Assistenten machte – und haben wiederum eigene Mitarbeiter. Anfang der 1980er-Jahre waren es Porträtaufträge für Vaniety Fair, etwa Michelle Pfeiffer, Jacqueline Bisset und Debra Winger oder Nastassja Kinski für den Playboy, die Newton realisierte und dabei von einem der drei jungen Designstudenten aus Pasadena unterstützt wurde. Mit Blick auf das heutige Werk von Arbeit, Holz und Loomis entdecken wir manche Ähnlichkeit und doch einen jeweils autonomen Stil.

Erstmals wird auch die exquisite private Fotosammlung von Helmut und June Newton gezeigt, die sich bis vor einigen Monaten noch in deren Wohnung in Monte Carlo befand und nun als ergänzendes Depositum in die Helmut Newton Stiftung verbracht wurde. In „June’s Room“ hängen nun – parallel zu SUMO und Three Boys from Pasadena – Porträts von August Sander, Brassaï, Ralph Gibson, Mary Ellen Mark, Albert Watson, Irving Penn oder George Hurrell, Aktbilder von Man Ray, Robert Mapplethorpe, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Frantisek Drtikol, Diane Arbus und Chris von Wangenheim, Modeaufnahmen von Horst P. Horst, George Hoyningen-Huene und Richard Avedon sowie Landschaften von Franco Fontana und Peter Beard – kurzum, eine Auswahl wertvoller Vintage Prints in der originalen Rahmung von vielen der bedeutendsten Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Intimität des Ausstellungsraumes unterstützt die Individualität der über Jahrzehnte von Helmut und June Newton zusammengetragenen Privatsammlung.