Photography, especially fashion photography – which describes and constantly redefines the zeitgeist – aims to tell exciting and surprising stories with images. Bourdin and Newton mastered this task perfectly.

Guy Bourdin and Helmut Newton revolutionized fashion photography in the 1960s and 1970s. Both of them worked for the same magazines as well as directly for clients from the fashion world. They both achieved a sense of timeless elegance in their photographs, and each independently established an own “radical chic” aesthetic. Now for the first time ever, these two influential fashion photographers will be showcased together with selected commissioned works.

Image Maker presents exemplary works by Guy Bourdin for various publication contexts, notably his iconic and imaginative advertising images for Charles Jourdan shoes as well as lesser-known works, vintage prints, and layouts from French Vogue. Helmut Newton’s A Gun for Hire presents mainly commissioned works from the 1990s for fashion houses such as Thierry Mugler, Valentino, and Blumarine and for companies including Absolut Vodka and Villeroy & Boch. Initially presented in the brands’ own publications, some of these images were later enlarged by the photographer and incorporated into his own œuvre.

Small and intimate, “June’s Room” at the Helmut Newton Foundation is reserved for friends and colleagues, this time for Helmut Newton’s former assistant Angelo Marino. Complementing the works of Bourdin and Newton, Marino offers a highly individual view of his immediate surroundings under the title Another Story, featuring snapshot-like portraits and landscapes in surreal colors.

Bourdin – Newton – Marino

Matthias Harder

In the 1960s and 1970s, Guy Bourdin revolutionized fashion photography just as radically as Helmut Newton did. Both photographers worked for the same magazines such as French Vogue, and also worked directly for clients from the fashion world. In addition to capturing a timeless elegance in their work, they each developed the idea of “radical chic” independently of each other. Now for the first time, commissioned works by these two influential fashion photographers are being shown together at this extensive exhibition in Berlin.

In 1970s at the peak of their career while they photographed magazine editorials, Newton shot the collections of clients such as Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent, Thierry Mugler, Mario Valentino and Blumarine. Simultaneously, Bourdin photographed collections such as Versace, Ungaro, Chloe, Chanel and Yves Saint Laurent while in addition he found a prime client in Charles Jourdan, a French shoe brand, that lasted over 15 years.

Newton ironically called himself a Gun for Hire – the title given to the exhibition of his commissioned work from the 1990s, which was shown posthumously in 2005 in Monaco, Berlin, and later in Budapest. A selection of Newton’s later works is now being shown again at the Helmut Newton Foundation – juxtaposed with Bourdin’s earlier work. Their fashion photographs sometimes appeared in the same editions of Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, and French Photo and also successively in the annual calendar of the camera manufacturer Pentax.

Under the exhibition title Image Maker, a selection of around 100 photographs by Guy Bourdin from these various sources will be shown. Divided into three parts, Image Maker addresses three aspects of Bourdin’s work: neo-surrealist and narrative creation as well as the photographer’s role as his own art director. Starting in the late 1960s, Bourdin was best known for the novel, idiosyncratic shoe photographs he shot for full-page advertisements published in fashion magazines. He depicted Charles Jourdan shoes in unusual locations and surprising configurations – showing for instance, two life-sized legs wearing shoes. Today, Bourdin’s avant-garde fashion photographs resound beyond their original commercial context as iconic images of the 1970s. When it came to the style and composition of his fashion images, Bourdin did not distinguish between advertising and editorial campaigns. In some cases, he relegated his female models to the periphery of the image in order to shine the spotlight on Jourdan’s shoes.

His visual language reminds us of the experimental and at times disturbing images of the Surrealists, whose work Bourdin seemed to translate for a contemporary audience. His approach was characterized by the use of off-beat portraiture and fashion locations, meat markets, for example, the arrangement and collage of highly disparate objects, and the incorporation of mirrors for a doubling effect or glimpses into a metaphysical parallel world. Bourdin made use of such Surrealist techniques in his early black-and-white photographs and in some of his later fashion images as well. He further confounds us as viewers with his image-in-image situations that stratify the pictorial space and his working process into multiple levels, making them seem four-dimensional.

We find an example of his mysterious and uncanny visual language when he directs our gaze to the corner of a white room where the floor, baseboard, and wall comprise a miniature stage. On the left side of the frame is a single red shoe, whose compact sole curves up to the heel to create a summery, elegant wedge sandal. The shoe is placed at a slight angle close to a wall socket, into which a green power cord is plugged, bringing a thrilling complementary contrast to the image’s otherwise reduced color palette. Equally unusual are the emptiness at the center of the image and the artificial blood or nail varnish oozing from the holes of a second electrical socket. Bourdin was the only photographer who dared to stage such disturbing, minimalist scenarios for the fashion world at the time – and who also had a carte blanche from his client to do so. Bourdin created images that, once they are seen, inscribe themselves irrevocably into our memory.

Guy Bourdin, Charles Jourdan, 1975 © Guy Bourdin Estate 2017, courtesy Louise Alexander Gallery
Helmut Newton, Blumarine, Monaco, 1994

Helmut Newton is likewise known for his frequent use of the shoe as a motif – black high heels in particular. As we can see in the current exhibition, they hold the feet of Nadja Auermann, for example, clad in dark, semi-transparent stockings. In one photograph her legs end at the thigh, just below the hem of a simple short black dress. In a second shot they disappear under a short white gathered dress that is partly hidden behind the long veil of a matching hat. Newton photographed the German supermodel for the exclusive Italian brand Blumarine several times in 1994 in Monte Carlo, including near its famous marina. In these images, she is pictured from below, making her long, slender legs look even longer. The model stands on a plain concrete surface; in one shot we look with the photographer inland towards the harbor and casino; in the second, obviously opposing, shot we look out towards the sea. While Newton identifies the location in the first image, he obscures it in the other with a simple shift in perspective. Smiling into the camera, his model looks down at her viewers from her elevated position. Meanwhile her hands, as is so often the case in Newton’s fashion photographs, are posed with the fingers slightly spread apart.

These motifs can be found in the exhibition space as life-sized prints, a format we already know from Newton’s Big Nudes project. During the 1990s, Newton played with unconventional picture formats in his fashion photography as well. A further peculiarity is apparent only at second glance: the black stilettos are a bit too large for Auermann’s feet. The photographer doesn’t hide but rather emphasizes this detail through the parallel positioning of her feet, as if to underscore this general “system error” of the fashion business. The black evening shoe is presented as pure form, pure elegance, and for some viewers possibly a fetish object. In another photograph, Newton transformed a shoe designed by Walter Steiger into a meter-high object by enlarging the image to several times its original size. Through its monumentalization, he endows it with an erotic, almost menacing effect.

In A Gun for Hire we see images that were mainly commissioned by fashion designers and which were first published in their fashion books; Newton later presented some of these images as part of his oeuvre. It was never merely a fashion shoot that he produced; they were often interwoven with a parallel narrative, sometimes tinged with a sense of surrealism or the suspense of an Alfred Hitchcock film. Frequently it remains unclear where reality ends and the staging begins, as the elements combine to create a confounding play of power and seduction.

For his later fashion and product commissions Newton often shot photographic sequences. Examples include his black-and-white visual narrative for Villeroy & Boch (1985), a color series with Monica Bellucci in different dresses by Blumarine (1998), as well as several motifs for a sports magazine calendar (2002) – in the latter case, the young bikini-clad women were not pictured as usual at the beach, but in the desert. The various series presented in this current exhibition are complemented by single images Newton shot for the German, American, Italian, French, and Russian editions of Vogue, primarily in and around Monte Carlo. He depicted some of his models in the garage of his own apartment building in Monaco, occasionally staging them in dialogue with the cars that were parked there. Newton transformed banal locations into starkly contrasting or particularly minimalist theatrical stages for his unconventional scenarios.

Fashion photography – which describes and constantly redefines the spirit of the times – aims to tell exciting and surprising stories with images. In this respect, Bourdin and Newton mastered this task perfectly.

Small and intimate, “June’s Room” at the Helmut Newton Foundation is reserved for friends and colleagues of the Newtons – this time for Helmut Newton’s former assistant Angelo Marino, who has also worked with Newton’s widow June (alias Alice Springs) since 2004. Complementing the works of Bourdin and Newton, Marino offers us under the title Another Story an eclectic view of his immediate surroundings with snapshots of fellow travelers, the sea, the passing architecture or landscape as seen from the train window during his daily commute from his home in Cannes to his workplace in Monte Carlo. Marino’s images, shot with an iPhone, include amusing, bizarre, and everyday situations presented in surreal colorfulness. The square picture format and the vibrant colors in Marino’s images are reminiscent of the legendary SX70 Polaroids that Helmut Newton used for decades to sketch his ideas and compositions, which he later considered to be independent works in their own right.

Marino has arranged his photographs into 52 elongated tableaux, each consisting of five color images to represent one week of the year, with 260 images in total. In “June’s Room” the images’ shifting lighting conditions capture the change of the seasons, while each individual picture characterizes and symbolizes a day and the journey from one place to the next. Together they manifest a state of being on the road in subjectively chosen, fleeting fragments of everyday life.

Angelo Marino is a quiet and precise observer of his environment. As a long-time assistant of Helmut Newton, who continued to use analogue and non-digital photography in his later work, Marino’s series of mobile phone images enhances the current exhibition by the addition of a new technological aspect. Another Story is an associative sequence, a modern photographic road trip that is narrated with atmospheric visual details. Rich in the variety of both their form and content, Marino’s images give us the impression that reality, transformed into a digital backdrop, is passing us by.

In der Fotografie – auch in der Modefotografie, die den Zeitgeist beschreibt und immer wieder neu definiert – gilt es, spannende und überraschende Geschichten mit Bildern zu erzählen. Bourdin und Newton beherrschten das geradezu perfekt.

Guy Bourdin und Helmut Newton revolutionierten in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren die Modefotografie. Beide arbeiteten für die gleichen Magazine und direkt für Klienten aus der Modewelt; dabei entwickelten sie – neben der offensichtlich zeitlosen Eleganz in ihrem Werk – unabhängig voneinander die Idee des „Radical Chic“. In der Berliner Ausstellung werden die beiden einflussreichen Modefotografen erstmals gemeinsam mit ausgewählten Auftragsarbeiten in diesem Umfang gezeigt.

Von Guy Bourdin werden unter dem Titel Image Maker exemplarisch Aufnahmen aus unterschiedlichen Veröffentlichungszusammenhängen vorgestellt; insbesondere seine Bildikonen und die fantasievollen Werbebilder für Schuhe von Charles Jourdan, nebst weniger bekannten Werken, Vintage prints und Layouts der französischen Vogue. In Helmut Newtons A Gun for Hire sehen wir vor allem Auftragsarbeiten aus den 1990er-Jahren für Modedesigner wie Thierry Mugler, Valentino und Blumarine oder Firmen wie Absolut Vodka und Villeroy&Boch; zunächst in deren Modebüchern und Werbebroschüren veröffentlicht, wurden manche vom Fotografen später neu vergrößert und so ins eigene Werk übernommen.

Der kleine, intime „June’s Room“ der Helmut Newton Stiftung ist Freunden und Wegbegleitern vorbehalten, diesmal Helmut Newtons ehemaligem Assistenten Angelo Marino. Ergänzend zu Bourdin und Newton stellt er unter dem Titel Another Story einen sehr individuellen Blick auf seine unmittelbare Umwelt vor: schnappschussartige Porträts und Landschaften in surrealer Farbigkeit.

Bourdin – Newton – Marino

Matthias Harder

Guy Bourdin revolutionierte in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren die Modefotografie ähnlich radikal wie Helmut Newton. Beide arbeiteten für die gleichen Magazine, beispielsweise für die französische Vogue, aber auch direkt für Klienten aus der Modewelt; dabei entwickelten sie – neben einer zeitlosen Eleganz – unabhängig voneinander die Idee des „Radical Chic“. In der umfangreichen Berliner Ausstellung werden Auftragsarbeiten dieser beiden einflussreichen Modefotografen erstmals gemeinsam gezeigt.

Während Bourdin ab 1967 in dem französischen Designer Charles Jourdan einen Hauptauftraggeber fand, fotografierte Newton die Kollektionen unterschiedlicher Kunden wie die von Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent, Thierry Mugler, Mario Valentino oder Blumarine – parallel dazu entstanden Zeitschriften-Editorials. Newton nannte sich selbstironisch A Gun for Hire – und so hieß auch die Ausstellung seiner in den 1990er-Jahren entstandenen Auftragsarbeiten, die 2005 posthum in Monaco und Berlin und später in Budapest gezeigt wurde. Eine Auswahl des Spätwerkes wird nun in der Helmut Newton Stiftung erneut präsentiert – in Gegenüberstellung mit dem früher entstandenen Werk Bourdins. Ihre Modefotografien erschienen teilweise in denselben Ausgaben der französischen und britischen Vogue, in Harper’s Bazaar und French Photo oder nacheinander in Kalendern des Kameraherstellers Pentax.

Von Guy Bourdin werden unter dem Titel Image Maker exemplarisch knapp 100 Aufnahmen aus diesen verschiedenen Quellen vorgestellt; sein Ausstellungsteil ist dreigeteilt und thematisiert entsprechend drei Aspekte seiner Fotografie, und zwar das neosurreale und das narrative Schaffen sowie die Arbeit als Art Director des eigenen Werkes. Bekannt wurde Bourdin seit den späten 1960er-Jahren vor allem mit neuen, ganz ungewöhnlichen Schuh-Aufnahmen für Werbeanzeigen, die ganzseitig in Modemagazinen erschienen. Der Fotograf hat die unterschiedlichen Schuhmodelle Charles Jourdans an außergewöhnlichen Orten sowie in überraschenden Kombinationen aufgenommen, etwa an zwei lebensgroßen Beinmodellen, denen der restliche Körper fehlt. Heute zählen Bourdins avantgardistische Modeaufnahmen, jenseits des ursprünglichen Werbekontextes, zu den Bildikonen der 1970er-Jahre. Er unterschied in seinem modebasierten Werk weder stilistisch noch kompositorisch zwischen Werbung und Editorial: Einerseits marginalisierte er die weiblichen Modelle, um Jourdans Schuhe im Bild besonders zu exponieren, andererseits radikalisierte er das Frauenbild in makabrer Inszenierung. Er nutzte Überblendungen, Figurenanschnitte, extreme Körperhaltungen und vermeintliche Gewaltdarstellungen.

Die Bildsprache erinnert uns an die experimentellen und mitunter verstörenden Darstellungsmodi der Surrealisten, die Bourdin ins Zeitgenössische transformierte. Charakteristika sind ungewöhnliche Aufnahmeorte für Porträts oder Mode, beispielsweise Fleischmärkte, weiterhin das Arrangieren und Collagieren von Gegenständen, die nicht unbedingt zueinander passen, und schließlich die Einbeziehung von Spiegeln, um einen Verdoppelungseffekt zu erzielen oder einen Blick in eine konstruierte, metaphysische Parallelwelt zu werfen. Bourdin wählte solche surrealistischen Ansätze sowohl im schwarz-weißen Frühwerk als auch später für manche der farbigen Modebilder. Überdies verwirrte er uns mit Bild-im-Bild-Situationen, mit denen er den Bildraum und den Arbeitsprozess in mehreren Ebenen, gleichsam vierdimensional, schichtete.

Folgendes Beispiel veranschaulicht seine rätselhaft-unheimliche Bildsprache: Der Betrachterblick ist auf eine in Weiß gehaltene Raumkante mit Fußboden, Fußleiste und Wand gerichtet, die wie eine Miniaturbühne inszeniert ist. Darauf befindet sich am linken Bildrand ein einzelner leicht gekippter, roter, offener Damenschuh, dessen kompakte Sohle zur Hacke hin nach oben führt und so einen eleganten Sommerschuh formt. Er ist nahe einer Steckdose platziert, in der ein grünes Stromkabel steckt; trotz der insgesamt sparsamen Kolorierung entsteht ein überaus spannungsvoller Komplementärkontrast. Ebenso ungewöhnlich sind die Leere im Bildzentrum und das aus den beiden Öffnungen der Steckdose fließende Blut (tatsächlich ist es eine rote Ersatzflüssigkeit). Derart verblüffende minimalistische Inszenierungen im Modebereich hat nur Guy Bourdin – ausgestattet mit einer Art Carte Blanche seines Auftraggebers – damals zu realisieren gewagt. Er schuf Bilder, die sich, einmal gesehen, in unserem Gedächtnis unwiderruflich einbrennen.

Guy Bourdin, Charles Jourdan, 1975 © Guy Bourdin Estate 2017, courtesy Louise Alexander Gallery
Helmut Newton, Blumarine, Monaco, 1994

Auch Helmut Newton fotografierte bekanntlich immer wieder Schuhe, meist schwarze High Heels. In diesen steckten, wie wir in der aktuellen Ausstellung sehen, beispielsweise die Füße von Nadja Auermann, bekleidet mit dunklen, semitransparenten Strümpfen. Sie enden einmal am Oberschenkel, kurz unterhalb des Saumes eines kurzgeschnittenen schlichten schwarzen Kleides – und in einer zweiten Aufnahme verschwinden sie unter einem ebenfalls sehr kurzen weißen, gerafften Kleid, über das sich lange Tüllschleier des dazugehörigen Hutes legen. Newton hat das deutsche Supermodel für das exklusive italienische Label Blumarine 1994 mehrfach in Monte Carlo fotografiert, beispielsweise in der Nähe des berühmten Yachthafens im Fürstentum – hier jeweils in Untersicht, so dass Auermanns schlanke lange Beine noch ein bisschen länger erscheinen. Das Modell steht auf einer einfachen Betonfläche; einmal blicken wir mit dem Fotografen in Richtung Hafen und Spielkasino, also landeinwärts, das andere Mal – gewissermaßen als Gegenschuss – in Richtung Meer: Auf der einen Seite konkretisiert und verortet Newton die Aufnahmesituation, auf der anderen verklärt er sie durch eine simple Perspektivverschiebung. Sein Modell lächelt vom erhöhten Standpunkt in die Kamera respektive auf die Betrachter herab, dabei sind ihre Hände, wie so häufig in Newtons Modeaufnahmen, mit leicht abgespreizten Fingern weit ausgestellt.

Die Motive finden sich etwa lebensgroß im Ausstellungsraum wieder, wie wir es bereits von Newtons Big Nudes kennen; doch auch in der Modefotografie hat Newton in der 1990er-Jahren mit ungewöhnlichen Bildformaten gespielt. Eine weitere Besonderheit fällt dem Betrachter möglicherweise erst auf den zweiten Blick auf: Die schwarzen High Heels sind ein wenig zu groß für Auermanns Füße, doch das verbarg der Fotograf nicht, sondern betonte es durch die parallele Fußstellung geradezu, als sei dies ein Systemfehler des Modebusiness im Allgemeinen. Der schwarze Abendschuh ist hier zugleich reine Form, pure Eleganz und für manche Betrachter möglicherweise ein Fetischobjekt. Ein andermal transformierte Newton einen von Walter Steiger entworfenen Schuh in mehrfacher Vergrößerung sogar zum metergroßen Objekt – und verlieh ihm durch eine solche Monumentalisierung eine ebenso erotisierende wie bedrohliche Wirkung.

Von Helmut Newton sehen wir in A Gun for Hire vor allem Auftragsarbeiten für Modedesigner, die zunächst in deren Modebüchern veröffentlicht wurden – manche hat er später in sein eigenes Werk übernommen. Im Mittelpunkt steht selten nur ein bloßer Modeentwurf, sondern meist auch noch eine eingeflochtene Parallelgeschichte, die in einigen Fällen eine Spur Suspence wie von Alfred Hitchcock enthält oder surreale Vorläufer zu haben scheint. Häufig ist nicht klar, wo die Wirklichkeit endet und die Inszenierung beginnt; alles wird zum verwirrenden Spiel um Macht und Verführung.

Helmut Newton realisierte in seinen späteren Mode- und Produktaufträgen häufig Sequenzen: etwa die Schwarz-Weiß-Bildgeschichte für Villeroy und Boch (1985), eine Farbaufnahmeserie mit Monica Bellucci in unterschiedlichen Kleidern von Blumarine (1998) oder mehrere Motive mit Bikini-Modellen für einen Sportmagazin-Kalender (2002). Die jungen Frauen trugen die knappe Badekleidung allerdings nicht wie üblich am Strand, sondern in der Wüste. Ergänzt werden die Serien oder Reihungen in der aktuellen Ausstellung durch Einzelbilder, aufgenommen für die deutsche, amerikanische, italienische, französische und russische Ausgabe der Vogue vor allem in und um Monte Carlo. Manche Modelle fotografierte er in der Garage seines Apartmenthauses in Monaco, gelegentlich unter Einbeziehung dort parkender Autos. Aus geradezu banalen Orten machte Newton kontrastreiche oder besonders reduzierte Bühnen für seine ungewöhnlichen Inszenierungen.

In der Modefotografie, die den Zeitgeist beschreibt und immer wieder neu definiert, gilt es, spannende und überraschende Geschichten mit Bildern zu erzählen. Bourdin und Newton beherrschten das geradezu perfekt.

Der kleine, intime „June’s Room“ in der Helmut Newton Stiftung ist Freunden und Wegbegleitern der Newtons vorbehalten, diesmal Helmut Newtons ehemaligem Assistenten Angelo Marino, der seit 2004 auch Newtons Witwe June (alias Alice Springs) zuarbeitet. Ergänzend zu Bourdin und Newton stellt er unter dem Titel Another Story einen ungewöhnlichen Blick auf seine unmittelbare Umgebung vor, denn Marino fotografiert täglich auf dem Weg vom Wohnort Cannes zum Arbeitsort Monte Carlo schnappschussartig mit dem iPhone Mitreisende, das Meer, die vorbeirauschende Architektur oder Landschaft aus dem Zugfenster; es sind amüsante, skurrile und alltägliche Situationen in surrealer Farbigkeit. Das quadratische Bildformat und die Farben kennen wir von den legendären SX70-Polaroids, die Helmut Newton ebenfalls jahrzehntelang als eine Art Ideen- und Kompositionsskizze verwendete – und später zu einem eigenständigen Werkbestandteil erklärte.

Fünf Farbbilder von Marino wurden nun zu einem länglichen Tableau angeordnet, das jeweils repräsentativ für eine Woche des Jahres steht, insgesamt sind es also 52 Panels beziehungsweise 260 Einzelbilder. Und so wird in „June’s Room“ die Veränderung der Lichtverhältnisse im Wechsel der Jahreszeiten sichtbar; jedes Einzelbild charakterisiert und symbolisiert einen Tag, die Fahrt von einem Ort an einen anderen, kurzum: das Unterwegssein, hier manifestiert in subjektiv gewählten, flüchtigen Realitätsschnipseln.

Angelo Marino ist ein stiller und genauer Beobachter seiner Umwelt. Als langjähriger Assistent von Helmut Newton, der auch im Spätwerk allein analoge und nicht digitale Fotografie praktizierte, ergänzt Marino mit der aktuellen Werkgruppe aus Handybildern die aktuelle Ausstellung um einen neuen fotografisch-technischen Aspekt. Another Story ist eine assoziative Sequenz, ein moderner fotografischer Road-Trip, der nachträglich in atmosphärischen Bilddetails erzählt wird. Und dies geschieht formal und inhaltlich abwechslungsreich – es scheint, als ob die Realität an unseren Augen vorbeiziehen und zu einer digitalen Kulisse werden würde.