After the outstanding success of the three-part exhibition, Men, War & Peace, the Helmut Newton Foundation presents the work of its founder alongside that of two of his friends and contemporaries, Larry Clark & Ralph Gibson.

A selection of pictures that Helmut Newton published in his own magazine Helmut Newton’s Illustrated between 1987 and 1995 are presented for the first time as a complete exhibition in the front three rooms of the foundation.

The central exhibition room is dedicated to two (in)famous bodies of work, Tulsa and Teenage Lust, by the photographer and film-maker, Larry Clark. Created in the sixties and seventies, Clark revealed to us the world of teenage sex and drug use in a way that had been taboo up until that time. In this he was probably the most influential predecessor of well-known photographers like Nan Goldin and Richard Billingham.

Clark’s provocative book Tulsa was published in 1971 by Lustrum Press. This publishing company was founded by Ralph Gibson and through it he distributed his own photography books, The Somnambulist, Déjà-vu and Days at Sea, amongst others, as well as books by leading photographers of the day. A representative selection of B/W & Colour images from these and later projects by Gibson, are presented in the remaining exhibition rooms of the Helmut Newton Foundation. His timeless, subjective imagery is known for its formal and abstract composition.

Nach dem herausragenden Erfolg der dreiteiligen Ausstellung Men, War & Peace wird mit Wanted: Helmut Newton, Larry Clark & Ralph Gibson die spannungsvolle Gegenüberstellung von Newtons Werken mit der Fotografie der von ihm geschätzten Kollegen fortgesetzt.

In den vorderen drei Ausstellungsräumen der Stiftung sind die Aufnahmen, die Helmut Newton zwischen 1987 und 1995 in dem von ihm begründeten Magazin Helmut Newton Illustrated veröffentlichte, erstmals auch als Ausstellung zu sehen.

Der zentrale Ausstellungsraum ist den beiden berühmten wie berüchtigten Werkgruppen Tulsa und Teenage Lust von Larry Clark gewidmet. Entstanden in den sechziger und siebziger Jahren zeigt Clark in drastischen Bildern das bis dahin tabuisierte Leben von jugendlichen Drogensüchtigen und deren Sex. Er ist damit der wohl einflussreichste Vorläufer für andere weltbekannte Fotografen wie Nan Goldin oder Richard Billingham.

Clarks provokanter Bildband Tulsa wurde 1971 in dem von Ralph Gibson gegründeten Fotobuchverlag Lustrum Press verlegt. Gibson veröffentlichte dort seit 1970 auch seine eigenen Bücher The Somnambulist, Déjà-vu oder Days at Sea. Daraus und aus späteren Projekten ist eine repräsentative Bildauswahl in Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe getroffen worden, die in den Wechselausstellungsräumen der Helmut Newton Stiftung erstmals in dieser Kombination präsentiert wird. Gibsons zeitlos-subjektive Bildwelten sind geprägt von starken Hell-Dunkel-Kontrasten und ausschnitthaften Abstraktionen.