After the great success of the exhibition A Gun for Hire at the Helmut Newton Foundation in 2005 with Newton’s fashion photos from the last 20 years the show Helmut Newton: Fired focused on his editorial work for fashion magazines of the 1960s and 1970s like Elle, Queen, Nova or Marie Claire.

“Fired from French Vogue: In 1964 I was commissioned by Queen magazine to photograph the revolutionary collection by Courrèges. The fashion editor, Claire Rendlesham, decided on a journalistic scoop showing only my Courrèges photos and excluding all other fashion houses from her Paris report. When Queen landed on the desk of Françoise de Langlade (then associate editor-in-chief of French Vogue) she hit the roof. I was called into her office, we had a tremendous row, she accused me of treachery and disloyalty and wanted to know why I had not told her about this scoop. I pointed out to her that I had no exclusive contract with Vogue, and it was of course understood that I would never divulge any ideas developed by French Vogue to Queen or vice versa. So I was kicked out of the hallowed halls of Vogue only to return in 1969 when Francine Crescent was appointed editor-in-chief. During Francine’s regime, I did what I considered my best fashion work. I was to be a regular contributor until 1982.” – Helmut Newton, from: Pages from the Glossies, Zurich: Scalo, 1998

The news of Helmut’s banishment from French Vogue soon reached Claude Brouet, the editor-in-chief of Elle magazine, who offered him work on the magazine. Helmut continued working for English and German magazines. He was able to adapt his style to the policy of the many magazines he worked for.

June Newton, Monte Carlo 2008

“So I was kicked out of the hallowed halls of Vogue...”

Matthias Harder

Following the great success of the exhibition A Gun for Hire at the Helmut Newton Foundation in 2005, which put Helmut Newton’s fashion images from the last two decades in the spotlight, the exhibition Helmut Newton: Fired took a look at his fashion photography from the 1960s and 1970s. Nearly 200 editorial images were on display.

“Fired from French Vogue: In 1964 I was commissioned by Queen magazine to photograph the revolutionary collection by Courrèges. The fashion editor, Claire Rendlesham, decided on a journalistic scoop showing only my Courrèges photos and excluding all other fashion houses from her Paris report. When Queen landed on the desk of Françoise de Langlade (then associate editor-in-chief of French Vogue) she hit the roof. I was called into her office, we had a tremendous row, she accused me of treachery and disloyalty and wanted to know why I had not told her about this scoop. I pointed out to her that I had no exclusive contract with Vogue, and it was of course understood that I would never divulge any ideas developed by French Vogue to Queen or vice versa. So I was kicked out of the hallowed halls of Vogue only to return in 1969 when Francine Crescent was appointed editor-in-chief. During Francine’s regime, I did what I considered my best fashion work. I was to be a regular contributor until 1982.”

Helmut Newton, from: Pages from the Glossies, Zurich: Scalo, 1998

Helmut Newton worked for numerous other international magazines in addition to Vogue and that he also worked directly with designers and fashion houses. The photographs for Courrèges that were published in 1964 in the fashion magazine Queen (and were the reason why Newton was fired from Vogue) brilliantly translated the ultra-modern designs of the French designer into the photographic image. The women’s trousers, the above-the-knee dresses and the spectacular space-age fashion in particular were revolutionary. The image of women and their position in society were in the midst of radical change. Newton shot the models without accessories in claustrophobic, narrow spaces, whose metal walls reflected and doubled both clothes and women.

After Newton was fired from Vogue, Claude Brouet, who was Editor-in-Chief of Elle, offered him work at her magazine. Five years later, Newton also captured “Elle’s” models within the confines of a mirrored room; this time, however, the photographer himself appeared with his small-format camera behind the women. Dressed in black, his presence provided more than a mere tonal contrast to the light-colored Cardin and Lanvin clothing adorning the models. With a sense of self-irony and media reflexivity about his medium that was unusual for the times, Newton slipped himself behind the work process and into the fashion image, and on occasion even put his own camera into the hands of the models. Two years later in 1971, he developed the so-called “Newton Photo Machine,” a delayed-action release contraption, with which the female models systematically photographed themselves (and their clothes) in front of a mirror – thereby checking their own poses against their reflection. These photographs were also published in Elle, and in 2007 they could be seen at the Helmut Newton Foundation.

Helmut Newton, Elle, 1969

Helmut Newton staged fashion in the streets, in public spaces or, as he said, “in life,” more often than in the studio. He placed women on a metaphorical pedestal, which in contrast to earlier fashion photography, no longer consisted of gallantry, but rather of female self-confidence. Newton’s women posed seductively and aloof, standing on the engine hoods of American sedans, in front of huge Marlon Brando posters or mysteriously illuminated at dusk before lonesome buildings. His black and white prints remind us of scenes from Hitchcock films, while his color photographs could pass for precursors to the later movies of David Lynch. Newton portrays women as active and attractive, assertive and erotic creatures, who seem to dominate the scenery – as well as the men who appear in the occasional motif.

The studio atmospheres that we also encounter in many of the pictures have either the neutral, flat backgrounds of the classical studio cove or are complicated, theatrical architectures. Their character remains recognizable, as Newton always gives us a peek behind the scenes at the picture’s edge. Monochromatic backdrops keep to the bare minimum, while more pictorial settings playfully contextualize or interpret the fashion models. Newton rejected the excessive décor of earlier decades, even for his Chanel pictures; the settings always evoke a sense of visionary timeliness. Televisions are used in some of the fashion photos, creating an interesting interaction between the female model on the TV screen and the gawking male observer, thus conveying both the unattainability as well as the ephemerality of the mediated subject.

Helmut Newton, Nova, 1971
Helmut Newton, Nova, 1971

The women in Newton’s pictures appear separately or in a group, at times with alluring elegance, or playful anarchy. In the early 1970s, Newton shot a series for the magazine Nova with aggressive “naughty girls” throwing chairs hand grenades, or donned with smiling masks and holding diamond-studded knuckle busters into the camera. The images were disturbing and provocative – also a subtle comment on the demonstrations and street agitation in Europe’s cities at the time and the radicalization of bourgeois youth into terrorist rings. Newton’s fascination for strong women reached its zenith in the 1980s with the famous series of the larger-than-life Big Nudes. As the photographer explained once, the series was inspired by life-sized identity photos of RAF terrorists he had seen hanging in German police precincts.

Helmut Newton’s creative potential was already present in his fashion work of the 1960s, and as we know today, there was room to grow. The ingenious images he produced time and again did more than just portray fashion; they offered commentary and interpretation as well. This applies especially to his later commissions for Yves Saint Laurent and Blumarine.

Specific occasions and settings that Newton used as the backdrop for some of the photographs on display were social events like the World’s Fair in 1967 in Montreal, or allegedly private cocktail parties. It is seldom the everyday which has a place in his pictures; mostly it is heightened situations, particular moments, which Newton created especially for his images.

The editorial work that has been compiled for this newest exhibit has heretofore been published exclusively in magazines, showing fashion from Courrèges, Dior, Lanvin, Cardin, Yves Saint Laurent, Ricci, Roger Vivier, Marc de Carita, Mary Quant and others. The photographs filled the entire exhibition space of the Helmut Newton Foundation; beginning with the fashion photos of the revolutionary Courrèges designs of 1964 and ending a decade later with the wrestling women Newton photographed for Nova. Self-defense was seen as a radical and consequent form of female self-realization at the time. But Newton would not be Newton if he hadn’t taken staged the fights of his protagonists with an erotic twist them.

When he later returned to French Vogue with Francine Crescent at the reigns, one of the first editorials she printed by Newton in 1970 were his photos of the newest Courrèges line, coming full circle.

In recent years, fashion photography has liberated itself from magazines and become considered a leading medium in its own right. Numerous museum exhibits have followed this coup; the art and auction market has catapulted prints of not a few classical and contemporary fashion photographers into unforeseeable heights. That was still very different in the 1960s and 1970s, as Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, William Klein or Helmut Newton worked in magazine editorials. Some of their photographs have become iconic – and some of these icons may be seen in the exhibition: Helmut Newton: Fired.

Helmut Newton: Fired zeigte exemplarisch Newtons innovative Modebilder der 1960er und 1970er Jahre für Zeitschriften wie Elle, Queen, Nova oder Marie Claire. Die Ausstellung in der Helmut Newton Stiftung knüpfte an den großen Erfolg von A Gun For Hire im Jahr 2005 an, als Newtons jüngere Modefotografien präsentiert wurden.

„Gefeuert von der französischen Vogue: 1964 wurde ich von dem Modemagazin Queen beauftragt, die revolutionäre Kollektion von Courrèges zu fotografieren. Die Moderedakteurin Claire Rendlesham entschied sich für eine ungewöhnliche Erstveröffentlichung, indem sie allein meine Courrèges-Fotos zeigte und alle anderen Modehäuser in ihrem Bericht über Paris unberücksichtigt ließ. Als die Queen-Ausgabe auf dem Tisch von Françoise de Langlade, damals stellvertretende Chefredakteurin der französischen Vogue, landete, explodierte diese. Ich wurde in ihr Büro zitiert, und wir hatten einen heftigen Streit. Sie warf mir Illoyalität und Verrat vor und wollte wissen, weswegen ich ihr nicht vorab von diesem Scoopberichtet hatte. Ich stellte klar, dass ich schließlich keinen Exklusivvertrag mit der Vogue hätte, ich allerdings niemals Bildideen bei der Queen ausplaudern würde, die ich für die französische Vogue entwickelte, oder umgekehrt. So wurde ich aus den heiligen Hallen der Vogue rausgeworfen, um erst 1969 zurückzukehren, als Francine Crescent Chefredakteurin wurde. Unter ihrer Leitung habe ich das geschaffen, was ich für meine beste Modefotografie halte; bis 1983 habe ich bei der Vogue regelmäßig meine Bilder veröffentlicht.“ – Helmut Newton, aus: Pages from the Glossies, Zürich: Scalo, 1998

Die Nachricht von Helmuts Rauswurf bei der französischen Vogue erreichte bald den Chefredakteur des Magazins Elle, Claude Brouet, der ihm anbot, für sein Magazin zu arbeiten. Helmut fotografierte auch weiterhin für englische und deutsche Zeitschriften. Er war in der Lage, seinen Stil den Regeln der zahlreichen Magazine anzupassen, für die er arbeitete.

June Newton, Monte Carlo 2008

„So wurde ich aus den heiligen Hallen der Vogue rausgeworfen ...“

Matthias Harder

Nach dem großen Erfolg der Ausstellung A Gun for Hire in der Helmut Newton Stiftung im Jahr 2005, als Newtons Modebilder der letzten beiden Dekaden im Zentrum standen, rückte die Ausstellung Helmut Newton: Fired dessen Modefotografie der 1960er und 1970er Jahre ins Zentrum. Fast 200 Aufnahmen, die im redaktionellen Kontext entstanden, sind hier zu sehen.

„1964 wurde ich von dem Modemagazin Queen beauftragt, die revolutionäre Kollektion von Courrèges zu fotografieren. Die Moderedakteurin Claire Rendlesham entschied sich für eine ungewöhnliche Erstveröffentlichung, indem sie allein meine Courrèges-Fotos zeigte und alle anderen Modehäuser in ihrem Bericht über Paris unberücksichtigt ließ. Als die Queen Ausgabe auf dem Tisch von Françoise de Langlade, damals stellvertretende Chefredakteurin der französischen Vogue, landete, explodierte diese. Ich wurde in ihr Büro zitiert, und wir hatten einen heftigen Streit. Sie warf mir Illoyalität und Verrat vor und wollte wissen, weswegen ich ihr nicht vorab von diesem Scoop berichtet hatte. Ich stellte klar, dass ich schließlich keinen Exklusivvertrag mit der Vogue hätte, ich allerdings niemals Bildideen bei der Queen ausplaudern würde, die ich für die französische Vogue entwickelte, oder umgekehrt. So wurde ich aus den heiligen Hallen der Vogue rausgeworfen, um erst 1969 zurückzukehren, als Francine Crescent Chefredakteurin wurde.“

Helmut Newton, aus: Pages from the Glossies, Zürich: Scalo, 1998

Helmut Newton hat bekanntlich neben der Vogue für zahlreiche andere internationale Zeitschriften und auch direkt für Designer und Modehäuser gearbeitet. Die Courrèges-Aufnahmen, veröffentlicht 1964 im Modemagazin Queen, die Grund für Newtons Rauswurf bei der Vogue waren, übersetzten die ultramodernen Entwürfe des französischen Designers kongenial ins fotografische Bild. Revolutionär waren die Hosen für Frauen, die kniefreien Kleider und vor allem der spektakuläre Weltraum-Look. Frauenbild und gesellschaftliche Position der Frauen befanden sich in einem radikalen Wandel. Newton fotografierte die Modelle ohne jede Accessoires in klaustrophobisch engen Räumen, deren metallene Wände Kleider und Modelle reflektierten und verdoppelten.

Nach Newtons Rauswurf bei der französischen Voguebot Claude Brouet, damals Chefredakteurin der Elle, ihm an, für ihr Magazin zu arbeiten. Fünf Jahre später nahm Newton die Modelle für die Elle wiederum in einem verwirrenden Spiegelraum auf; diesmal allerdings tauchte der Fotograf hinter den Frauen mit seiner Kleinbildkamera auf und bildete mit seiner schwarzen Kleidung nicht nur einen tonalen Kontrast zu den hellen Cardin- und Lanvin-Kleidern der Modelle. Ungewöhnlich für die Zeit war auch, wie Newton hier den Arbeitsprozess selbstironisch und medienreflexiv ins Modebild hineinschummelte und gelegentlich den Modellen seine Kamera sogar selbst in die Hand drückte. Weitere zwei Jahre später, 1971, entwickelte er die so genannte „Newton Photo Machine“, eine selbst auslösende Konstruktion, bei der die weiblichen Modelle sich und die von ihnen getragene Mode vor einem Spiegel systematisch fotografierten und dabei ihre Posen über das eigene Spiegelbild überprüften. Auch diese Bilder wurden in der Ellepubliziert, und 2007 waren sie in der Helmut Newton Stiftung zu sehen.

Helmut Newton, Elle, 1969

Helmut Newton inszenierte Mode häufig auf der Straße, im öffentlichen Raum oder „im Leben“, wie er selbst es einmal ausdrückte, seltener im Studio. Er hob die Frauen metaphorisch auf einen Sockel, der nicht mehr wie in der früheren Modefotografie aus Galanterie bestand, sondern aus weiblichem Selbstbewusstsein. Und so posierten sie vor Newtons Kamera verführerisch wie unnahbar auf den Kühlerhauben amerikanischer Straßenkreuzer stehend, vor riesigen Marlon Brando-Plakaten oder im Zwielicht der Dämmerung, geheimnisvoll illuminiert, vor einsamen Häusern. Wir fühlen uns bei den Schwarz-Weiß-Motiven an Filmszenen von Hitchcock erinnert, während die Farbaufnahmen Vorläufer späterer Lynch-Filme sein könnten. Newton zeigte Frauen als aktive und attraktive, selbstbewusste und erotische Wesen, die die jeweilige Szenerie und die gelegentlich auftauchenden Männer zu beherrschen scheinen.

Die Studioatmosphäre, der wir in manchen dieser Bilder begegnen, besteht aus farbneutralen, flachen Hintergründen der klassischen Studiohohlkehle oder aufwendig produzierten, bühnenartigen Raumarchitekturen. Diese bleiben jedoch als solche erkennbar, indem Newton uns an den Bildrändern hinter die Kulissen blicken lässt. Die monochromen Fonds, vor denen Mode und Modell exponiert sind, beschränken sich in der Bildkomposition auf das Wesentliche, während die opulenteren Raumentwürfe die Frauen in ihren Kleidern umspielen, manchmal verorten und interpretieren. Dabei verzichtete Newton auf die üppigen Dekors früherer Jahrzehnte, selbst für seine Chanel-Modeaufnahmen; alles Rahmende wirkt überaus zeitgemäß und visionär. So tauchen etwa Fernsehbildschirme in einigen Modebildern auf, wodurch eine interessante Interaktion entsteht zwischen dem dort aufscheinenden weiblichen Modell und dem bewundernden männlichen Betrachter davor. So wird Unnahbarkeit und Flüchtigkeit medial illustriert.

Helmut Newton, Nova, 1971
Helmut Newton, Nova, 1971

Die Frauen in Newtons Bildern treten separiert oder als Gruppe, mal lasziv und elegant, mal anarchisch und verspielt auf. Anfang der Siebzigerjahre entstand für das Magazin Nova eine Serie mit aggressiven „Naughty Girls“, die mit Stühlen und Handgranaten herumwerfen oder mit lächelnder Maske diamantenverzierte Schlagringe in die Kamera halten. Diese Modebilder verstörten und provozierten, darüber hinaus kommentierten sie subtil die zeitgleichen Demonstrationen und Straßenkämpfe in Europas Metropolen beziehungsweise die Radikalisierung der bürgerlichen Jugend in terroristischen Zirkeln. Die Faszination Newtons für starke Frauen erreichte ihren Höhepunkt in den Achtzigerjahren mit der berühmten Bildserie der überlebensgroßen Big Nudes, die unter anderem durch die ganzfigurigen Fahndungsbilder der RAF-Terroristinnen in deutschen Polizeiamtsstuben inspiriert wurden, wie der Fotograf in seiner Autobiographie schrieb.

Das kreative Potential Helmut Newtons zeigte sich bereits in diesen Modeaufnahmen aus den 1960er Jahren, und es war, wie wir heute wissen, noch steigerbar. Dabei entstanden stets kongeniale Bilder, die die Modeentwürfe nicht allein illustrierten, sondern kommentierten und interpretierten – das gilt insbesondere auch für die späteren Auftragsarbeiten für Yves Saint Laurent oder Blumarine.

Für die Ausstellung sind redaktionelle Aufnahmen zusammengestellt worden, die allein in den jeweiligen Magazinen veröffentlicht wurden, ansonsten aber ungezeigt blieben, mit Mode von Courrèges, Dior, Lanvin, Cardin, Yves Saint Laurent, Ricci, Roger Vivier, Marc de Carita, Mary Quant und anderen. Sie erstreckten sich über die gesamte Wechselausstellungsfläche der Helmut Newton Stiftung; es began 1964 mit den Modebildern der revolutionären Courrèges-Entwürfe und endete ein Jahrzehnt später mit ringenden Frauen, die Newton für das Magazin Novafotografierte. Die hier gezeigte Selbstverteidigung ist eine radikale wie konsequente Form weiblicher Selbstverwirklichung dieser Zeit. Doch Newton wäre nicht Newton, hätte er diese Kämpfe seiner Protagonistinnen in der Inszenierung nicht erotisch aufgeladen.

Als er später zur französischen Vogue zurückkehrte, hatte Francine Crescent beim Magazin die Verantwortung für Mode und Bild übernommen; ironischerweise veröffentlichte sie dort 1970 als eine der ersten Bildstrecken Newtons Fotos der seinerzeit aktuellen Entwürfe von Courrèges. So schloss sich der Kreis.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich Modefotografie von den Zeitschriften emanzipiert und zu einer Art Leitmedium entwickelt. Zahlreiche Museumsausstellungen haben diesen Siegeszug begleitet, der Kunst- und Auktionsmarkt katapultiert Abzüge vieler Modefotografen der klassischen Periode und der zeitgenössischen Bildproduktion in ungeahnte Höhen. Das war in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren noch gänzlich anders, als Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, William Klein oder Helmut Newton für das Zeitschriften-Editorial gearbeitet haben. Einige ihrer Bilder sind heute geradezu ikonisch geworden, und einiger dieser Ikonen waren in der Ausstellung Helmut Newton: Fired zu sehen.